A Plethora of Questions....

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

the Jabberwock wrote:Ok, so using Akhorahil after strikes are assigned seems to be allowed, but clearly not once any dice rolls have been made, correct?
Konrad Klar wrote:And not in strike sequence. Unless character uses body instead prowess against strike e.g. when facing strike from Dragon's Breath.
Thanks. And what specific action initiates the "strike sequence"? Is it once a dice roll is made or something else?
Konrad Klar wrote: As far this is almost OK. Almost because "I choose to play Elladan from my hand under Elrond's DI." is done just in "organization phase" not "At the beginning of my organization phase". Actions taken at the beginning/end of a phase are actions taken before/after other actions allowed in the phase will be/were taken.

At the end of organization phase some other actions may, or must be taken. One of mandatory actions is discarding a characters if there is not enough influence to control them.

Now it is interpretation, what exactly happens at this point.
"However, if there are any characters you do not have the influence to control at the end of your organization phase, the character you brought into play this turn must be returned to your hand." must be done first, before any "exceed characters" will be discarded.

Justification of that interpretation:
If player would be allowed to first discard "exceed characters", and in second step to perform "the character you brought into play this turn must be returned to your hand." then the player would very easily avoid that second step. Both before and after errata. Just because after discarding "exceed characters" his influence would be enough to control all characters he has in play (no need to discard/return any other character at this point).

In other words the player would be able to make "exchange", exposing on discarding unwanted character and preserving newly played character. The operation that otherwise requires discarding "old" character and then playing new character, so requires two organization phases (unless the player will manage a situation where unwanted "old" character will be discarded not voluntarily, e.g. in result of corruption check).

Before errata the player was able to make such exchange legally, placing newly played character under DI. Only purpose the errata is to prevent such exchange from happening. If "the character you brought into play this turn must be returned to your hand." and discarding "exceed characters" could be performed in any order, then the errata would be purposeless.
A very thorough and clear explanation. The character MAY be played during organization (you don't have to choose to either play a character or discard one in advance), BUT the return to hand effect must happen before the discard exceeding characters effect. I do think I get it now. Thank you very much!
Konrad Klar wrote:A company cannot do anything in site phase if it does not enter a site.
However "company" is not "player".
There are actions/cards that do not require any activity of company, do not require a character with certain skills, or do not require a company at all.
A Chance Meeting does not require any activity of company and does not require a character with certain skills.

For the record:
Official Rulings Digest #105 wrote:[...]
I am overturning this ruling in CoE digest 14:
---
"9. When a card such as River or Lost in Free Domains is played which
states that "it [the company] may do nothing at the site during its site
phase," does this mean the player can't even play permanent events like,
say, Gates of Morning? The rationale for the question was that the
company isn't doing it: it's not a card that uses a character's skill or
something a character is attempting to play. However, (and I didn't
remember this reasoning during the game) I don't think even perm events
like Gates would be allowed because nothing can be played in the site
phase unless the company enters the site, and the company can't do this
because it "may do nothing." But this wouldn't prevent the player from
playing said events during the end of turn phase, right?
*** The "company" may do nothing during the site phase. Nothing stops
the player from playing cards that don't require the company in any way
such as Gates of Morning but you can always play that during the end of
turn phase so it's moot."
---
*** This is incorrect. If a company is forced to do nothing during a
site phase, the site phase for that company is wholly skipped. There is
no opportunity to play anything.
[...]
This ruling negates a difference between player and company. It also leads to undefined situation when there are unrevealed on-guard cards that need be returned to hand at the end of site phase.
I disagree with the ruling.
the Jabberwock wrote: Konrad -
Thanks again. So that I am clear here, the current official ruling is that the company's site phase is skipped entirely if they do not choose to enter the site. Is this correct? Who is the person or entity that overturned this rule?
Konrad - will you kindly answer my quoted questions directly above please? Thanks
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

the Jabberwock wrote:And what specific action initiates the "strike sequence"? Is it once a dice roll is made or something else?
Lidless Eye, Combat, Attacks & Strikes, The Strike Sequence wrote:The "strike sequence" is the time from when a player declares that one of his characters will resolve a strike until the strike dice roll is made and any associated body checks are made.
the Jabberwock wrote:
the Jabberwock wrote:Konrad -
Thanks again. So that I am clear here, the current official ruling is that the company's site phase is skipped entirely if they do not choose to enter the site. Is this correct? Who is the person or entity that overturned this rule?
Konrad - will you kindly answer my quoted questions directly above please? Thanks
If I remember correctly, the author of the ruling is Chad Martin tharasix - person who withdrew from MECCG some years ago. The ruling has not been overturned, so is current.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
the JabberwocK
Ex Council Chairman
Posts: 1156
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2011 4:46 am

Konrad -
Many thanks once again for your replies.

I have some additional new questions for anyone who will answer. Thanks in advance!

1) If I have played Align Palantir on one of my palantir and I later store that palantir, is the Align Palantir also stored with the palantir (ie. do I still get the 2 MPs from it or is it discarded)?

2) When playing cards such as An Unexpected Outpost, which allow you to bring a certain type of card back into your play deck, are you required to reveal the card to your opponent? Or is this just on the honor system that you aren't in fact retrieving a resource/character instead of a hazard?

3) Can Barrow Blade be played during the site phase in addition to an item? For example, if I am tapping a character and the site Dead Marshes to play Glamdring, may I also tap a second character and play Barrow Blade?

4) If Mouth of Sauron is declared as a short event, can Cram be used in response to untap a sage, and then have the sage tap and play Marvel's Told to discard a permanent event, all before the Mouth of Sauron resolves?

5) When can Miruvor be used? Would I be correct that it can be used after strikes are assigned but not once the strike sequence has begun? (same as Akhorahil's ability)

6) Why was Vilya given errata? Was it deemed too powerful as first printed?

7) Leaf Brooch - when would this card be used? Can you give me an actual example or 2? Can you discard the Brooch to prevent an item being discarded from a character's failed corruption check?

8] Lure of Nature - are corruption checks done before settling your hand at the end of the M/H phase?

9) Can Dragon-Sickness be played on-guard to be revealed after a character has gained a major or greater item at the site? I thought on-guard cards must be legally playable during the M/H phase. In this case, it would not legally be playable during the M/H phase since no character in the moving company yet possessed a major or greater item.

10) What is the latest point that I may tap a Ranger to fulfill the requirement of the card River? Also, if I have 1 ranger in my company and I tap him during the M/H phase to fulfill the River requirement, can my opponent respond by tapping Adunaphel to tap my Ranger first BEFORE he taps to fulfill the River requirement? Or is the action of my tapping my ranger not able to be responded to by another action?
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

the Jabberwock wrote:1) If I have played Align Palantir on one of my palantir and I later store that palantir, is the Align Palantir also stored with the palantir (ie. do I still get the 2 MPs from it or is it discarded)?
Align Palantir will be stored with the palantir and give you the marshalling points
the Jabberwock wrote:2) When playing cards such as An Unexpected Outpost, which allow you to bring a certain type of card back into your play deck, are you required to reveal the card to your opponent? Or is this just on the honor system that you aren't in fact retrieving a resource/character instead of a hazard?
The common way to do this is show a part of the card to your opponent so he can see it is a hazard (just a corner of the card, for example)
the Jabberwock wrote:3) Can Barrow Blade be played during the site phase in addition to an item? For example, if I am tapping a character and the site Dead Marshes to play Glamdring, may I also tap a second character and play Barrow Blade?
Sure you can, but not in the Dead Marshes (it must be played in [-me_rl-] ). You can play 2 or 3 in the same site phase, if available.
the Jabberwock wrote:4) If Mouth of Sauron is declared as a short event, can Cram be used in response to untap a sage, and then have the sage tap and play Marvel's Told to discard a permanent event, all before the Mouth of Sauron resolves?
Sure
the Jabberwock wrote:5) When can Miruvor be used? Would I be correct that it can be used after strikes are assigned but not once the strike sequence has begun? (same as Akhorahil's ability)
Sure
the Jabberwock wrote:6) Why was Vilya given errata? Was it deemed too powerful as first printed?
Because it allowed you to take any 5 (not 3) cards (not resources, but also characters and hazards), even if Elrond is not in Rivendel. Using Vilya that way would allow you to recicle any card, and that is quite broken (infinite assasins, infinite corruptions, infinite rivers...).
the Jabberwock wrote:7) Leaf Brooch - when would this card be used? Can you give me an actual example or 2? Can you discard the Brooch to prevent an item being discarded from a character's failed corruption check?
The most common use of the Leaf Brooch is testing a ring and then discarding the brooch instead of the Golden Ring. That allows you to make several ring tests with only playing Leaf brooches in the safety of Lorien. It also helps against thieves.

You cannot use it to avoid the discard of an item held by a failing-corruption check-character, as the character will be discarded anyway along with all the things he control (I think).
the Jabberwock wrote:8] Lure of Nature - are corruption checks done before settling your hand at the end of the M/H phase?
Yes
the Jabberwock wrote:9) Can Dragon-Sickness be played on-guard to be revealed after a character has gained a major or greater item at the site? I thought on-guard cards must be legally playable during the M/H phase. In this case, it would not legally be playable during the M/H phase since no character in the moving company yet possessed a major or greater item.
You answered yourself.
the Jabberwock wrote:10) What is the latest point that I may tap a Ranger to fulfill the requirement of the card River? Also, if I have 1 ranger in my company and I tap him during the M/H phase to fulfill the River requirement, can my opponent respond by tapping Adunaphel to tap my Ranger first BEFORE he taps to fulfill the River requirement? Or is the action of my tapping my ranger not able to be responded to by another action?
I don't really indestand the question. The example given by you is correct, if you tap the Ranger, it is already tapped when Adunaphel tries to tap him, so it is useless.
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

the Jabberwock wrote:2) When playing cards such as An Unexpected Outpost, which allow you to bring a certain type of card back into your play deck, are you required to reveal the card to your opponent? Or is this just on the honor system that you aren't in fact retrieving a resource/character instead of a hazard?
CRF/CRF v.3/Clarifications and Rulings/Revealing Manipulated Cards wrote:Certain cards, effects, and/or rules allow a player to search for cards and add them to
his or her hand, play deck, or discard pile outside of the normal sequence of play (i.e.,
in addition to filling out the hand and drawing cards when a company moves). A
player may or may not be required to reveal some or all of the identity of such
manipulated cards. If the card manipulated must be a specific type of hazard or
resource, then it must be revealed to the opponent. If the card must be either a hazard,
resource, or character, then enough of the manipulated card's face must be revealed to
show opponent that it is the correct type. If there are no restrictions on which cards
may be manipulated, the manipulated card does not have to be revealed.
The rule does not assume that games will be fair play.
Unfortunately respecting of the rule means a sacrificing a some aspects of the game for sake of anti-cheating protection.
E.g. to prove that a card returned to hand is actually unique Dragon manifestation, a player must reveal the card, disclosing more than it is necessary to verify that the card is correct type.
It also makes all phrases like "reveal to your opponent" in cards texts redundant, so meaningless.
the Jabberwock wrote:3) Can Barrow Blade be played during the site phase in addition to an item? For example, if I am tapping a character and the site Dead Marshes to play Glamdring, may I also tap a second character and play Barrow Blade?
Because playing of Barrow Blade does not tap a site, Barrow Blade may also be played after facing of all automatic-attacks and before facing of agent attack, and on-guard creature attacks.
(a site is being tapped after successful playing of item, not "to play" item).
the Jabberwock wrote:4) If Mouth of Sauron is declared as a short event, can Cram be used in response to untap a sage, and then have the sage tap and play Marvel's Told to discard a permanent event, all before the Mouth of Sauron resolves?
Cram card is being discarded at declaration of "untap bearer"* action. The action must resolve in the same chain of effect. Untapping does not happen at declaration.
Similarly a sage is being tapped at declaration of Marvels Told, but discarding event and corruption check of the sage do not happen at declaration.
(from where the idea that "untap bearer" may happen immediately?)
So no for "all before the Mouth of Sauron resolves?".

*) funny fact: because Cram has been discard at declaration, at resolution a character that had bear a Cram is no longer bearer of the Cram.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Konrad Klar wrote:E.g. to prove that a card returned to hand is actually unique Dragon manifestation, a player must reveal the card, disclosing more than it is necessary to verify that the card is correct type.
It also makes all phrases like "reveal to your opponent" in cards texts redundant, so meaningless.
I don't know if this behaviour is rules-acceptable, but in this case (and other similars, as picking a creature with Uvatha), in Spain is very commmon using the guy that is playing a game at your side: "Is this a creature/dragon manifestation?". He is the one that "certifies" that you are not cheating. Of course a referee should be the best option to do that, but referees in tournaments are hard to find nowadays...

Not showing your opponent the exact card and at the same time avoiding cheating should be the best option...
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Note that Align Palantir has a CRF entry allowing it to be stored; otherwise, it could not be. (Focus Palantir, the minion version, lacks such wording.)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

The entry could be as well "Align Palantír may be transferred" and it would make a sense like "Align Palantír can be stored" makes a sense.

Is/can be an permanent-event played or placed on item transferred separately from the item?
What happens with the permanent-event if the item is being transferred? Is it being discarded, or hangs on air?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Mordakai
Council Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:38 am

Konrad Klar wrote:Is/can be an permanent-event played or placed on item transferred separately from the item?
What happens with the permanent-event if the item is being transferred? Is it being discarded, or hangs on air?
Would you discard Andúril when played on Narsil if transferred? Probably there is no ruling about that, but for common sense sake...
C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Dreams of Lore wrote:Sage only during the site phase at an untapped site where Information is playable. Tap the sage and the site. Sage may not untap until Dreams of Lore is stored at a Haven [H] during his organization phase. May not be transferred. ...if sleep could be called...resting his mind in the strange paths of elvish dreams...-LotRII
Something (maybe) related. "May not be transferred." - does putting such restriction here mean that other resource permanent-events controlled by characters may be transferred? Is it exception from general permission?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

The distinction is that the rules specifically say that you can store items by default, and that some cards indicate when and where they can be stored -- and that other cards may not be stored.

Transferring an item is a different issue simply because wherever the item is, it remains in play and the event in question can still continue to target it. The rules say nothing about an event having to specify that the item it targets can be transferred.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

You are speaking about distinction and I was trying to speak about what storing and transferring have in common.

Rules say that items may be stored by default and that items may be transferred by default.
Rules also say that some cards indicate when and where can be stored.
Rules do not say anything about transferring events between characters.

However text of Dreams of Lore states "May not be transferred.". Does it indicate that without such text the card (and other resource permanent-events) may be transferred?
CRF entry for Align Palantír says "Align Palantír can be stored". Does it indicate that it can be stored along with Palantír (and that other resource permanent-events without such text, played/placed on item, cannot be stored along the item)? Or does it indicate that Align Palantír can be stored, like Rescue Prisoners can be stored - independently from item?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

And thus events are not transferred between characters.

An event played on an item continues to affect/target that item.

I'm inclined to view the phrase on Dreams of Lore as an example of ICE not knowing their rules early on.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4493
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Does phrase "X can ABC" mean that ABC is by default forbidden for whole class to which X belongs?
Does phrase "X cannot ABC" mean that ABC is by default allowed for whole class to which X belongs?

Non-generic questions:

Event cannot be transferred between characters? However this happens when an item on which event is played/placed is being transferred. Event is being transferred because item on which the event is played/placed is being transferred.

May event be stored? If it specifically states that it may be stored then yes. Texts of Rescue Prisoners, Dreams of Lore state that the cards may be stored.
CRF entry for Align Palantír says "Align Palantír can be stored". Do texts of/CRF entry for the cards say that they must be stored with some other cards?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

I do not believe that an event on an item is controlled by a character (directly). It is controlled by the item which is controlled by the character. Thus, while an item is transferred, the event is never transferred, because its direct controller (the item in question) remains the same.

In general, the phrase "X can do Y" does not mean that Y is forbidden by default. However, the rules do not give a clear means of performing Y except in cases where X is doing it, then we don't know how to accomplish such a task in the game.

The phrase "X cannot do Y" does not mean that Y is enabled by default except in the case of X. It simply means that X cannot perform the action.

An example can be found in the rules on storing:
The One Ring may not be stored.
This rule does not mean anything more or less than that one cannot store the One Ring. We know that items in general can be stored because of another rule entirely.

It would be theoretically possible to store Align Palantir without storing the item it is played on, except the card contains the phrase "Keep with the Palantir." This means that in order to store it, one must also store the palantir.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”