The last character in a company has been eliminated

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Van Norton was indeed the NetRep for ICE at one point; some of his rulings digests were not integrated into the CRF when ICE went under. It is de facto errata, but at least from somebody who was in a position to make de facto errata. :)
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
miguel
Ex NetRep
Posts: 705
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Mordan wrote:so in the end,

can you bring a 2nd character at his home site (ruins,shadow or border) during the organisation phase with WhCtK while the site card is not yet in play?
No. You must have a company at that site.
dirhaval
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:39 am

This is my opinion.
If all of your characters are gone during the move phase, then the site card is sent back
to where it goes at the end of the phase.

However, if all of your characters are eliminated during the site phase, then yes
you can play ACM.

Logic:
The site phase must conclude if it starts. That means that a site is in play for you for "that"
site phase. ACM is a resource that mimics an inherit game mechanic: playing characters at sites.
The game mechanic is you can play characters during the ORG phase at havens or the home site.
Now, ACM takes that mechanic and allows it to be played when a site is available: Untap phase, ORG phase, Site phase, EOT phase.
You can not play a site during any phase but ORG phase except for resources allowing such new sites like Bridge, but that is the Move phase.
If you have no company at a site, you are not at a site. Therefore Chance Meeting, and, concordantly, We Have Come to Kill, may not be played.
I do not like that statement since how can you play any character without first playing a site during the ORG phase? You have an ORG phase no matter what. Then how can you play any characters if you have none in play?

The mimicking of using ACM during the site phase is the same as using an ability/resource to untap a character. The only time you can untap a character is during the Untap phase. But cards mimic that game mechanic and untap characters. Has anyone debated that Cram cannot be used outside the Untap phase. Of course not my good dwarf. So in my opinion you must have at least one character at the end of the Move phase to have a site phase for the resource player. If there is a site phase then there is a site and ACM can be played.
Beorn came in play for a bit, but was discarded when the dwarves moved along.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”