Page 1 of 2

Whose is this Stage Point (Gnawed Ways as a hazard)?

Posted: Fri Feb 22, 2008 1:02 am
by Konrad Klar
Gnawed Ways wrote:Playable on one of your Deep Mines sites. The Deep Mines site is now adjacent to an Under-deeps site of your choice whose surface site is in a region containing or adjacent to the region containing the Deep Mines surface site. The movement number required to move between these two Under-deeps sites is (7). This card may also be played as a hazard on one of your opponent's Deep Mines sites. Discard this card when Deep Mines is discarded or returned to its location deck. Cannot be duplicated on a given Deep Mines site.
As in title. Some hazards played on Fallen wizard gives him Stage Points as indicated on the hazard card's text. Gnawed Ways is not played on FW and SP symbol is only printed on left border, but not mentioned in the card's text. So how is in this case?

Posted: Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:33 pm
by Bandobras Took
I would say that since it can be played as a hazard, it can be included in the hazard portion of any deck.

Therefore, the stage point would go to the owner of the site on which it is played. Otherwise, we would have non-FWs gaining Stage Points.

Posted: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:10 am
by jaded
There is no rule even suggesting it. In my opinion it doesn't give the SP anyone.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 8:26 pm
by Bandobras Took
However, there are several hazards which give stage points to the FW of the opposing player. Gnawed Ways when used as a hazard would fall into the same category of these other cards.

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 10:00 am
by jaded
No, because as Konrad mentioned they all give the SP by the card text

Posted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:54 pm
by Bandobras Took
METW Rules wrote:Clarification: For emphasis, a value used during play is often provided both in a card's text and in another place on the same card. For example, a character's corruption check modification is stated both in the text and the lower right corner of the character's card.
Bolds mine.

Often does not mean always.

Gnawed Ways has the exact same icon in the exact same place as the two other hazards which give stage points. With both of those two hazards, text is necessary: in one case, the stage point amount is variable, and in the other, there is a possibility of not receiving the stage points. No such text is necessary with Gnawed Ways because the 1 Stage Point simply applies -- there are no special conditions for it.

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 9:35 pm
by jaded
Was it necessary in inner rot?

Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 11:29 pm
by Bandobras Took
Sure. Inner Rot can be played on Wizards and Fallen wizards. The text specifies that the Stage Points only apply to Fallen wizards.

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 7:55 am
by jaded
I see you truly conviced yourself :)
To me the hazards have texts to clear up whose these poins are (not the owner of the card).
Another thing worries me: can this card be included by other player than FW?
MEWH introduces a new type of resource card called a stage resource card. Such a card is actually a “Fallen-wizard- only resource card”-only Fallen-wizard players may include them in their decks. Stage resources have a green-colored (i.e., tarnished copper) background. Most stage resource cards give stage points.

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 12:31 pm
by Konrad Klar
Lidless Eye wrote:Only Ringwraith players may include minion characters, resources, and sites in their decks, while only Wizard players may include hero characters, resources, and sites in their decks.
That is not issue in case of Wild Hounds in RW player's deck or Tidings of Death in wizard's deck.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:39 pm
by Bandobras Took
Cards which can be used as resources or hazards can be used as either in deck construction.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:01 pm
by jaded
Oh, so "only Fallen-wizard players may include them in their decks" means nothing, have to remember that.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 4:42 pm
by Bandobras Took
MEWH introduces a new type of resource card called a stage resource card. Such a card is actually a “Fallen-wizard-only resource card”-only Fallen-wizard players may include them in their decks.
Gnawed Ways may be played as a hazard per the card text and so may be included as a hazard in deck construction. Let me know if you find anything in those rules that says a non-FW player can't use hazards in deck construction. :)

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 8:35 pm
by jaded
It just seem to me as more specific rule than
Cards that can be played as either hazards or resources may count as either for purposes of deck construction.

but I may be wrong in this one.

Posted: Tue Mar 11, 2008 9:04 pm
by Konrad Klar
Minion events cannot be included in hero deck. There is no exception for this rule (minion/hero items in hero/minion deck are such exception - to the rule that forbid including resources in deck of opposite alignment).
So when Tidings of Death may be played as hero resource?
Please note that this card was issued before White Hand - so before introduction of concept of deck that can contain both hero and minion resource.