Page 1 of 1
Question about keying to specific regions.
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:37 pm
by Beezertheturnip
Hypothetical case: Party containing a character with an Elven Cloak moves to Woodman Town, in Western Mirkwood. There are no effects in play that alter the region status of Western Mirkwood, it is a wilderness. Opposing player plays Adunaphel keyed to the Western Mirkwood region as a creature, which is permissible due to the card text. Can the defending party use the Elven Cloak to cancel the strike? Adunaphel is being played keyed to the region which is a wilderness, but is not being played keyed to a wilderness the way say, an orc raiders is.
Obviously, the question could be skipped if Adunaphel was keyed to the site and not the region, but I wanted to ask more generally if a creature keyed to a region located on the card is keyed to the type of region that given region is.
Re: Question about keying to specific regions.
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:28 pm
by CDavis7M
This this case, Adunaphel is keyed to Western Mirkwood, a region name. Keying to a region name (point 2) and keying to a region type (point 4) are two different alternatives for keying creatures as listed under "Playing and Drawing Cards", hazard cards, creature cards. Elven Cloak specifically only works when the creature is "keyed to Wilderness," a region type. So it can't be used to cancel a strike of an attack keyed to a region name.
There is also a ruling in the CRF:
Attacks or strikes keyed by name to a region or site cannot be cancelled by effects which refer only to the type of the region or site.

Re: Question about keying to specific regions.
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:35 pm
by Beezertheturnip
Many thanks for the prompt and clear reply.
Re: Question about keying to specific regions.
Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2021 6:40 pm
by Konrad Klar
Beezertheturnip wrote: ↑Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:37 pm
Can the defending party use the Elven Cloak to cancel the strike?
No.
Adunaphel is keyed to Western Mirkwood, not to a wilderness.
Beezertheturnip wrote: ↑Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:37 pm
Obviously, the question could be skipped if Adunaphel was keyed to the site and not the region, but I wanted to ask more generally if a creature keyed to a region located on the card is keyed to the type of region that given region is.
Particular rule, or text of a card may say about keying to a region/site type by region/site symbol, or by name of region/site if the region type happens to be a region/site of given type.
For example, rules concerning detainment attacks say:
The parameters apply if the attack is keyed to the region symbol or site symbol (by type) or if keyed to a region or site
by name which happens to be of appropriate type (i.e., has the appropriate symbol).