Page 1 of 1
Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 11:18 am
by Konrad Klar
Balrog, The Under-deeps, Under-deep Site Movement wrote:Note: A company moving from a surface site to its Under-deeps site does not need to
make a roll. As an exception to this, a Balrog company moving between the
Blue Mountain Dwarf-hold and the The Drowning-deeps (or between the Iron
Hill Dwarf-hold and the The Rusted-deeps) must roll the number given on the
Under-deeps site, which is normally 13 and impossible to roll.
Does it mean that non-Balrog company moving between Blue Mountain Dwarf-hold and the The Drowning-deeps (in situation, where The Drowning-deeps is the (former) rescue site for a character taken prisoner) does not need make a roll?
If so, then the rule hinders some post ICE additions, like:
Firstborn: Osteledan
Site
Adjacent Sites: Ost-in-Edhil (6) Playable: Information, Items (minor, major, gold ring) (2): (1st) Traps — 2 strikes with 11 prowess; (2nd) Opponent may play as a Nameless Thing, Watcher in the Water, or Elf creature from his hand; keep the creature with the site as 2nd until it is defeated. Special: Contains a hoard. Hidden site. Discard a Stolen Knowledge card from the company to reveal this site. When a gold ring is tested at this site, the result of the roll is modified by +3
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 2:11 pm
by Vastor Peredhil
correct moving down from the surface site normally requires no roll, except the Balrog exceptions in the rules you stated
though I do not see how this rule would hinder any of the DCs with use UDS movement to new sites or Dungeons, dungeons are not down, but hidden normally so there would still be a roll in my book
but hey I am just the creator

Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 2:42 pm
by Konrad Klar
How about:
Durin's Folk: The Drowning-deeps
Site
Adjacent Sites: Blue Mountain Dwarf-hold (9), The Under-vaults (9), Remains of Thangorodrim (9), Ruins of Belegost (11), Ruins of Nogrod (11) Playable: Items (minor, major) (2): (1st) Drake — 2 strikes with 11 prowess; (2nd) Opponent may play as an a non-unique hazard creature from his hand normally keyed to Special: Any creature playable keyed to Coastal Seas may be played at this site.
?
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 3:41 pm
by Vastor Peredhil
but what is the issue=?
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 4:08 pm
by Konrad Klar
If " A company moving from a surface site to its Under-deeps site does not need to make a roll." is a general rule, then 9 in text:
"Adjacent Sites: Blue Mountain Dwarf-hold (9)" could be 0 as well and it would not make a difference.
(rules governing the hidden sites may overcome the rule, but The Drowning-deeps from Durin's Folk does not belong to the category, as I understand)
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Dec 24, 2019 8:34 pm
by Vastor Peredhil
Yep, could be 0, but what about moving back up?
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:09 am
by Konrad Klar
Vastor Peredhil wrote: ↑Tue Dec 24, 2019 8:34 pm
Yep, could be 0, but what about moving back up?
But what is the issue now?
Great Road, Ancient/Legendary Stair?
No issue at this point (end of turn), except effects of Earth-tremors and/or The Way is Shut.
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 9:08 pm
by CDavis7M
It was explained to me like the Catacombs of Rome. For some unfortunate people, it is much harder to get out than it was to get in.
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2021 2:29 pm
by Anth
Going up from underdeeps the rules say you have to make a roll, but what number do you have to roll, is it just zero?
Re: Moving between an Under-deeps site and a surface site
Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2021 3:54 pm
by Konrad Klar
Anth wrote: ↑Tue Aug 10, 2021 2:29 pm
Going up from underdeeps the rules say you have to make a roll, but what number do you have to roll, is it just zero?
Good point.
Now it returns the problem to beginning.
What the rules actually say?
Are they stating that moving from surface site to under-deeps site does not require a roll, regardless of values printed on under-deeps site
and with exception of The Drowning-deeps and The Drowning-deeps?
Or rather they do not try to make any regulation in that matter but just state what is usually printed on Under-Deeps card?
"(0)" for surface site.
(for which the roll should be performed anyway, because the roll can be potentially modified and not always must be successful, and for purpose of timing - there must be the time for effects like revealing of cards like The Reach of Ulmo).