Returning to a site of origin and failed under-deeps movement roll

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Returning to a site of origin and failed under-deeps movement roll

Post by Konrad Klar »

CRF, Turn Sequence, Movement/Hazard Phase, Returning to Site of Origin wrote:Rules Erratum: If a company returns to it's site of origin, it may do nothing during it's
site phase. A company failing it's underdeeps movement roll is not effected by this
rule.
Dark Minions, Under-deep Site Movement wrote:If the result is greater than or equal to the
number in parentheses following the adjacent site as listed on its site of origin, the
movement/hazard phase proceeds normally. Otherwise, the company returns to its
site of origin and the movement/hazard phase proceeds as if the company had not
moved.
Does it mean that a company that failed its under-deeps movement roll is generally considered returned to a site of origin?
If so, can effect of Promptings of Wisdom or Piercing All Shadows prevent it from result of failing its under-deeps movement roll?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1511
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Returning to a site of origin and failed under-deeps movement roll

Post by CDavis7M »

Promptings of Wisdom and Piercing All Shadows say "cancel all hazard effects." Still, other return-to-origin cancellation effects are not restricted to hazard effects. Anyway, the CRF on "Under-deeps" states:
When a company's site of origin is an Under-deeps site and the company reveals a new site at the start of its movement/hazard phase, the company is declaring it will make a roll to determine if the movement was successful. No cards can be played between the site being revealed and the roll except for Reach of Ulmo. Neither player draws cards for this movement if the roll is not successful.
Which is consistent with the CRF and Annotations on the M/H phase stating that the revealing/drawing at the start of the M/H phase resolves before any new declarations, with under-deeps roll modifiers being an exception.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Returning to a site of origin and failed under-deeps movement roll

Post by Konrad Klar »

CDavis7M wrote:
Tue Nov 19, 2019 8:00 pm
Promptings of Wisdom and Piercing All Shadows say "cancel all hazard effects."
Thanks.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3282
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Returning to a site of origin and failed under-deeps movement roll

Post by Konrad Klar »

CRF, Errata (Cards), Goldberry wrote:You may tap Goldberry to cancel an effect declared earlier in the same chain of
effects that would return Goldberry's company to its site of origin. Goldberry cannot
prevent a company from returning to its site of origin that failed its roll to move to an
adjacent Under-deeps site. May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an
attack.
Seems like the issue has been explored in past. Why a failing under-deeps movement roll is still considered as a returning to a site of origin, not just as a staying at site, I do not know.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”