Konrad Klar wrote: ↑
Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:26 am
From your previous example (Plague of Wights and The Moon is Dead) I'm infering that modifications to prowess also count as the "effects".
Nice to hear that resource player chooses order of applying/declaring (as you said "Nothing was meant by this difference in terminology") effects only if the order does not matter (e.g. bonuses to prowess of attacks from Rank upon Rank and from Night).
Unfortunately, the ICE rulings make it more complicated than that. The resource player actually can choose the order to applying/declaring effects if the order DOES
matter (not only if the order does not matter) if one of the effects causing the order to matter was not already in play
at the start of the M/H phase (e.g., it was played during the current M/H phase).
Annotation 26: If at the start of a player's movement/hazard phase, there are multiple effects in play such that their net effect depends on the order they are applied, the player who is currently not taking his turn (i.e., the hazard player) decides the order in which they are to be applied. Once this interpretation is established, all further actions are applied in the order they are resolved for the rest of the turn.
Example: Resource Player has 2 companies, A and B. Plague of Wights and Doors of Night is in play.
-Company A moves. The Moon is Dead is played. A Barrow-wight creature is played. The Resource
Player decides the declaration/application order because The Moon is Dead was not in play at the start of the M/H phase. So Barrow-wight has only 3 strikes: 1 strike originally, doubled to 2 by PoW, plus an extra 1 from TMiD.
-Company B moves. Plague of Wights and The Moon is Dead are already in play. A Barrow-wight creature is played. The Hazard
Player decides the declaration/application order and so Barrow-wight now has 4 strikes: 1 strike originally, plus 1 from TMiD, doubled to 4 by PoW.
Why does the Resource player get to decide the order for Company A? Why is this difference needed in this situation? I think this situation is unintentional. I think the rule really only makes sense when it is your own hazards being used against you.
Of course, if The Moon is Dead were already in play and Plague of Wights were not already in play, then the Hazard player could still maximize the strikes by playing PoW before strikes are assigned. But then the Resource player would choose the order for the 2nd Barrow-wight played. Causing discrepancies in the number of strikes given the same cards being in play/played (which is not obvious from the cards).
Looking at Annotation 26 again, it seems to be stating that the hazard player would need to review the hazards already in play at the start of the M/H phase and immediately decide the order in which effects are to be applied, before
any cards are even played. And then "once this interpretation is established
", play resumes as normal.