Hmm... that CoE ruling is misleading and incorrect. It doesn't apply here. The statement in CoE #57 is in response to a question about applying the strike-modifying effects of Plague of Wights and The Moon is Dead:Theo wrote: ↑Mon Oct 28, 2019 6:20 amDeduced from what it means to resolve the effects from playing a card.
At least, past CoE rulings are consistent with this:(I presume the inclusion of the same movement/hazard phase clause is present only to exclude effects that all are triggered---and thus are ordered---at the start of the movement/hazard phase. The motivating rationale should also apply to PallandoTSK & Press-gang.)CoE #57 wrote:If an effect is in play that was played during a previous chain of effect in the same movement/hazard phase, it's applied in the order in which the cards were played.
The CoE Netrep appears to be reciting Annotation 26 on the Movement/Hazard phase, but then it writes "resource" player instead of "hazard" player, seemingly remembering Annotation 10 on passive conditions and confusing it with Annotation 26. It would be helpful if the Netrep cited the rules.CoE #57 wrote:Lastly, I know this question has been discussed here, but I never quite understood what the final verdict was on it. Here is the scenario, the
moon is dead, plague of wights are in play. How are the strikes calculated, additionally if I also throw in a Chill Douser how does this affect the strikes with plague of wights. The way I've been doing it so far is just doubling the natural strikes on a undead creature with PoW and then adding in the TMiD and Chill Douser strikes and prowess mods.
*** If either of these cards are in play at the beginning of the movement/hazard phase, the resource player chooses the order in which they're applied. After that, cards are applied as per chain of effects. If an effect is in play that was played during a previous chain of effect in the same movement/hazard phase, it's applied in the order in which the cards were played.
Passive Conditions wrote:Annotation 10: If more than one action is required to be the first action declared in a chain of effects, the player whose turn it is chooses the order in which they are declared.
The CoE #57 statement "If either of these cards are in play at the beginning of the movement/hazard phase, the Resource Player chooses the order in which they're applied" is misleading because at the beginning of the M/H phase, it is the Hazard Player that determines the order when the net effect differs (the order of Plague of Wights and The Moon is Dead changes their net effect) per Annotation 26. It's Annotation 10 that lets the Resource player decide the order of actions triggered by passive conditions.Movement/Hazard Phase wrote:Annotation 26: If at the start of a player's movement/hazard phase, there are multiple effects in play such that their net effect depends on the order they are applied, the player who is currently not taking his turn (i.e., the hazard player) decides the order in which they are to be applied. Once this interpretation is established, all further actions are applied in the order they are resolved for the rest of the turn.
Annotation 26 lets the Hazard Player choose the order of actions triggered by the site-path at the start of the M/H phase, like the actions caused by Fell Winter and Morgul Night.