Mount Slain

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Mordakai
Council Member

Can I play multiple Mount Slain on the same strike? (AKA Can I kill 3 evil horsies from a single Nazgûl?)

C'mon, not the Elves of Lindon AGAIN...
CDavis7M

I don't think this was addressed in any of the Digests or the CRF. I don't see why you couldn't.

Some might even say that you could play it 20 turns after the strike fails. But that seems unreasonable to me.
Kjeld

It seems that you should have to play them sequentially (i.e. you have to resolve the first copy of Mount Slain before you can play a second copy). If this is the case, then the card text, "If still in active play following its body check, discard the Ringwraith" would seem to prevent you from playing the second copy. Once the first copy resolves, the Ringwraith is discarded and is no longer in active play. At this point, there is no target for the second copy, hence it would fizzle.

I am no expert on targeting rules, but this interpretation would seem to fit the thematic intention of the card: one Ringwraith rides one mount, no more.
CDavis7M

I agree thematically. But the discarding is an effect and not a condition. And in cases where the Ringwraith is eliminated or discarded by the bodycheck, or if it was a Nazgul attack, there is no effect anyway. But you still get the 2MP.

You would expect to see "cannot be duplicated on a single strike."
Kjeld

I thought something like that might technically be the case. I suppose it is one of those cases where the authors of the card thought it was perfectly clear that only one Mount Slain could be played per failed strike, and never expected that players might try to double (or triple) up on the 2 MPs. Though, even if it's ruled or errated to read that the card may only be played once per failed strike, there's the interesting case that, should a Nazgul attack gain an extra strike, the defending player could still potentially slay its mount several times!