A Plethora of Questions....
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:18 pm
I have a lot of questions I would like rules clarifications on. Please don't feel the need to respond to all of them at once. Just whatever you have time for and know the answers to. Much appreciated!
1) We Have Come to Kill - Do most tournaments allow Ringwraith followers to be brought into play using this card, but not allow it to bring in your avatar Ringwraith? My understanding from the URD is that there is no clear answer or ruling on this matter and it is up for debate. Additionally, what about a Fallen Wizard bringing in Orcs and Trolls with this card? What is the current accepted ruling on this matter?
2) A Chance Meeting - Is this card an exception to the 1 character per turn limit like We Have Come to Kill clearly states? Or are you still restricted to 1 character per turn even when using this card? Also, Fallen Wizards can't use this card to bring in Agents can they? Because it says the character must be brought into play with direct influence.
3) Rebel Talk - If at the end of my organization phase my characters exceed my allowed GI due to a hazard played on one of them (eg. Rebel Talk), do I get to decide which character I bounce back to my hand?
If so, and I then choose to bounce back the character with Rebel Talk on him, does Rebel Talk
go to my opponent's discard pile?
Since this bouncing action is taking place at the end of my organization phase, it is then too late
to replay the character as my 1 character per turn and I would have to wait until my following
turn, correct?
If the character being bounced back to my hand has items, are they discarded if I don't
willingly transfer them earlier during my organization phase (and make corruption checks)?
If the character being bounced back to my hand controls an ally, the ally is discarded?
When Rebel Talk is played on a character, is he immediatley removed from DI and placed in
GI? Thus negatively affecting my roll against a Muster Disperses, for example?
4) Akhorahil (permanent event) - Can you tap to use his ability after you make a body check roll that ties an opponent's character's body in order to eliminate the character? IF NOT, does this card
see play as a permanent event and if so, what types of scenarios is it used in?
5) Storing Items - If I have a character who is carrying 3 items and he wants to store them all at a
haven, does he have to pass 3 separate corruption checks (with reduced corruption points after
each item is stored)? Or can he make a single corruption check and store all 3 at once after
passing?
6) Roac the Raven - I can play Lordly Presence on him when attempting to bring in a faction, correct?
What if I am not using Roac's special ability to bring in the faction, but using a different
character for the influence attempt....can I still play a Lordly Presence if Roac is my only diplomat in the company? Or does the influencing character have to be a diplomat?
Finally, can I play A Friend or Three on Roac while attempting to bring in a faction?
7) Buthrakaur the Green - his ability permits an unlimited amount of hazard creatures to be played after him who qualify, correct? This is even if the attack by Buthrakaur has been cancelled, correct?
8] Am I correct that you do not have to enter the site (and face automatic attacks) in order to play
cards like The Windlord Found Me, Dreams of Lore, or any other non-item, non-faction, non-ally cards which don't specify that you must enter the site to play them?
9) Direct Influence - Thrain II is controlling a 5 mind dwarf which uses all of his available direct influence (2 points of general and 3 points specific towards dwarves and dwarf factions). If he attempts to bring in a dwarf faction, will he get the +3 towards factions (stated using the word AND in his text) or will he get no bonus because the influence is currently being used to control a follower?
If he was instead controlling a 3 mind character dwarf, does he have 2 points of unrestricted DI
available while using all of his restricted DI? OR must he first use his 2 points of unrestricted
DI and 1 point of restricted, which leaves 2 points left available that may only be used for
dwarves and dwarf factions?
Unlike Thrain II which uses the word AND in his card text, the card Elf-stone uses OR: "+2 direct influence used against an Elf character or an Elf faction." Due to the word "OR" which is used, am I correct in guessing that if the direct influence is being used to control an Elf, that you can not also use the +2 bonus to influence an Elf faction?
10) The Moon is Dead - states that "All Undead attacks receive +1 strike and +1 prowess.
All Undead automatic attacks are duplicated. Discard this card when an undead attack is
defeated." So my question is this: if I defeat the first automatic attack (and thus The Moon is
Dead is discarded), does the second (duplicate) automatic attack still exist and have to be faced?
If so, does this second automatic attack still get the +1 strike and +1 prowess bonuses?
11) Dragon's Hunger - My opponent has one left against the hazard limit and starts a chain of effects
by playing Bairanax Ahunt, who immediately attacks my company traveling through Anduin
Vales. May I respond to this attack by playing Dragon's Hunger?
If yes, then my opponent responds to my Dragon's Hunger by discarding a hazard creature from
his hand (mandatory, and counts against the hazard limit). Once we start resolving this chain
of effects and get back to the attack by Bairanax Ahunt, my opponent has already reached the
hazard limit (when he discarded the creature card), so does the attack by Bairanax now fizzle?
If so, after I announce my Dragon's Hunger, could my opponent immediately respond by
tapping his Power Built By Waiting to increase the hazard limit and make sure his Bairanax
attack doesn't fizzle upon resolution?
12) On-Guard - Is there a limit to the number of on-guard cards you can play on a given site (and that can be revealed) during a turn?
13) Tolfalas - Why does Tolfalas have the errata “Scroll of Isildur Only” for its greater items?
14) Balrog Sites - Why does the URD say that non-Balrog decks may not use Balrog sites, but they can include certain sites in their location deck for playing hazard creatures? How is this done? Will you please give an example?
15) Align Palantir - what does “keep with the palantir” mean? Does bearer have corruption points
from both Align Palantir and the palantir itself? Or can it be played on the sage in the same
company as the bearer and thus split up the corruption points? Does sage have to tap to play this?
16) Wizard's Ring - errata says its not a ring item. This would prevent it from being used with Rumors of Rings, correct? Was there ever an explanation given for why this is not considered to be a ring item?
17) Plague - does the bearer of Plague also make a roll? Seems out of flavor if he does not.
18) So You've Come Back - At a haven, can the bearer split into his own company, discard this card,
then rejoin his company or a different company?
Thanks again so much for the help!
1) We Have Come to Kill - Do most tournaments allow Ringwraith followers to be brought into play using this card, but not allow it to bring in your avatar Ringwraith? My understanding from the URD is that there is no clear answer or ruling on this matter and it is up for debate. Additionally, what about a Fallen Wizard bringing in Orcs and Trolls with this card? What is the current accepted ruling on this matter?
2) A Chance Meeting - Is this card an exception to the 1 character per turn limit like We Have Come to Kill clearly states? Or are you still restricted to 1 character per turn even when using this card? Also, Fallen Wizards can't use this card to bring in Agents can they? Because it says the character must be brought into play with direct influence.
3) Rebel Talk - If at the end of my organization phase my characters exceed my allowed GI due to a hazard played on one of them (eg. Rebel Talk), do I get to decide which character I bounce back to my hand?
If so, and I then choose to bounce back the character with Rebel Talk on him, does Rebel Talk
go to my opponent's discard pile?
Since this bouncing action is taking place at the end of my organization phase, it is then too late
to replay the character as my 1 character per turn and I would have to wait until my following
turn, correct?
If the character being bounced back to my hand has items, are they discarded if I don't
willingly transfer them earlier during my organization phase (and make corruption checks)?
If the character being bounced back to my hand controls an ally, the ally is discarded?
When Rebel Talk is played on a character, is he immediatley removed from DI and placed in
GI? Thus negatively affecting my roll against a Muster Disperses, for example?
4) Akhorahil (permanent event) - Can you tap to use his ability after you make a body check roll that ties an opponent's character's body in order to eliminate the character? IF NOT, does this card
see play as a permanent event and if so, what types of scenarios is it used in?
5) Storing Items - If I have a character who is carrying 3 items and he wants to store them all at a
haven, does he have to pass 3 separate corruption checks (with reduced corruption points after
each item is stored)? Or can he make a single corruption check and store all 3 at once after
passing?
6) Roac the Raven - I can play Lordly Presence on him when attempting to bring in a faction, correct?
What if I am not using Roac's special ability to bring in the faction, but using a different
character for the influence attempt....can I still play a Lordly Presence if Roac is my only diplomat in the company? Or does the influencing character have to be a diplomat?
Finally, can I play A Friend or Three on Roac while attempting to bring in a faction?
7) Buthrakaur the Green - his ability permits an unlimited amount of hazard creatures to be played after him who qualify, correct? This is even if the attack by Buthrakaur has been cancelled, correct?
8] Am I correct that you do not have to enter the site (and face automatic attacks) in order to play
cards like The Windlord Found Me, Dreams of Lore, or any other non-item, non-faction, non-ally cards which don't specify that you must enter the site to play them?
9) Direct Influence - Thrain II is controlling a 5 mind dwarf which uses all of his available direct influence (2 points of general and 3 points specific towards dwarves and dwarf factions). If he attempts to bring in a dwarf faction, will he get the +3 towards factions (stated using the word AND in his text) or will he get no bonus because the influence is currently being used to control a follower?
If he was instead controlling a 3 mind character dwarf, does he have 2 points of unrestricted DI
available while using all of his restricted DI? OR must he first use his 2 points of unrestricted
DI and 1 point of restricted, which leaves 2 points left available that may only be used for
dwarves and dwarf factions?
Unlike Thrain II which uses the word AND in his card text, the card Elf-stone uses OR: "+2 direct influence used against an Elf character or an Elf faction." Due to the word "OR" which is used, am I correct in guessing that if the direct influence is being used to control an Elf, that you can not also use the +2 bonus to influence an Elf faction?
10) The Moon is Dead - states that "All Undead attacks receive +1 strike and +1 prowess.
All Undead automatic attacks are duplicated. Discard this card when an undead attack is
defeated." So my question is this: if I defeat the first automatic attack (and thus The Moon is
Dead is discarded), does the second (duplicate) automatic attack still exist and have to be faced?
If so, does this second automatic attack still get the +1 strike and +1 prowess bonuses?
11) Dragon's Hunger - My opponent has one left against the hazard limit and starts a chain of effects
by playing Bairanax Ahunt, who immediately attacks my company traveling through Anduin
Vales. May I respond to this attack by playing Dragon's Hunger?
If yes, then my opponent responds to my Dragon's Hunger by discarding a hazard creature from
his hand (mandatory, and counts against the hazard limit). Once we start resolving this chain
of effects and get back to the attack by Bairanax Ahunt, my opponent has already reached the
hazard limit (when he discarded the creature card), so does the attack by Bairanax now fizzle?
If so, after I announce my Dragon's Hunger, could my opponent immediately respond by
tapping his Power Built By Waiting to increase the hazard limit and make sure his Bairanax
attack doesn't fizzle upon resolution?
12) On-Guard - Is there a limit to the number of on-guard cards you can play on a given site (and that can be revealed) during a turn?
13) Tolfalas - Why does Tolfalas have the errata “Scroll of Isildur Only” for its greater items?
14) Balrog Sites - Why does the URD say that non-Balrog decks may not use Balrog sites, but they can include certain sites in their location deck for playing hazard creatures? How is this done? Will you please give an example?
15) Align Palantir - what does “keep with the palantir” mean? Does bearer have corruption points
from both Align Palantir and the palantir itself? Or can it be played on the sage in the same
company as the bearer and thus split up the corruption points? Does sage have to tap to play this?
16) Wizard's Ring - errata says its not a ring item. This would prevent it from being used with Rumors of Rings, correct? Was there ever an explanation given for why this is not considered to be a ring item?
17) Plague - does the bearer of Plague also make a roll? Seems out of flavor if he does not.
18) So You've Come Back - At a haven, can the bearer split into his own company, discard this card,
then rejoin his company or a different company?
Thanks again so much for the help!