Several miscellanious rules questions....
Posted: Thu Feb 25, 2016 4:36 am
Hey Guys,
I'm sure I could find some of my answers by digging through this forum, but I'm hoping for some quick replies for an upcoming game I will be playing. Any help is much appreciated!
1) If Cirdan (or another similar character) is eliminated, does his -3 MP penalty count against the total MPs you need to call the Free Council? I know the URD states that an eliminated avatar (using the tournament convention) of -5 MPs would negatively affect your ability to call the FC, but I would like to confirm this is the same for other characters.
2) Can Fram Framson be brought into play away from his home site using "A Chance Meeting"? My guess is Yes, because it clearly says it can bring Hobbits in, so I would think Fram would fall into a similar ruling, but I just want to make sure.
3) Are Lindon and Cardolan adjacent regions? What about Arthedain and Elven Shore? Horse Plains and Nurn?
4) I know the rules state that followers can not have their own followers. But can a follower character bring in an Ally? Or is this considered a violation of the follower not having a follower rule?
5) Can resource events be played during phases other than Movement Hazard/Site phases without the card specifically allowing it? For example, can I play a Marvel's Told during my Untap or Organization phase? If so, and my opponent responds by activating a Nazgul permanent event ability, how does using the Nazgul ability affect the hazard limit of the upcoming M/H phase? Does it still count against it? Additionally, if I tap a sage to use Marvel's Told and my sage is also carrying Cram, can I untap him with cram and ditch the cram before making the corruption check?
6) Even though I read and re-read the rules regarding cards playable on an Automatic Attack, I'm still a little confused. So a card like Risky Blow cannot be played against an Automatic Attack, is this correct?
7) The URD specifies 4 different types of movement: Starter, Region, Under-Deeps and Special. It specifically mentions that Forod (and other similar cards) are considered to be in the special movement category. I just want to confirm that if I'm playing the game using Region movement but using a map (not actual region cards), that I am still legally able to play cards like Forod, etc. Is this correct? I don't understand why these cards specifically say they can only be used by a player moving without region cards. Using a map is "in lieu of" region cards so pretty much the same thing. Please help me understand this.
8] A Dwarven Ring doesn't require me to enter a site and face automatic attacks OR tap the site when using its special ability does it? The card just states "Tap a Dwarf bearer to search your play deck for a major item playable at the bearer's site. Play this item immediately or discard." So can I use this ability during any phase of play? Can I stay at the same site turn after turn and use the ability each turn?
9) Facing an attack from Slayer, can the character facing the attack tap himself to cancel the first attack, and then face the second attack at a -1 penalty?
10) Do allies face a strike from Watcher in the Water? The card states "each character", but aren't allies considered to be characters for the purposes of combat?
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE HELP!!
I'm sure I could find some of my answers by digging through this forum, but I'm hoping for some quick replies for an upcoming game I will be playing. Any help is much appreciated!
1) If Cirdan (or another similar character) is eliminated, does his -3 MP penalty count against the total MPs you need to call the Free Council? I know the URD states that an eliminated avatar (using the tournament convention) of -5 MPs would negatively affect your ability to call the FC, but I would like to confirm this is the same for other characters.
2) Can Fram Framson be brought into play away from his home site using "A Chance Meeting"? My guess is Yes, because it clearly says it can bring Hobbits in, so I would think Fram would fall into a similar ruling, but I just want to make sure.
3) Are Lindon and Cardolan adjacent regions? What about Arthedain and Elven Shore? Horse Plains and Nurn?
4) I know the rules state that followers can not have their own followers. But can a follower character bring in an Ally? Or is this considered a violation of the follower not having a follower rule?
5) Can resource events be played during phases other than Movement Hazard/Site phases without the card specifically allowing it? For example, can I play a Marvel's Told during my Untap or Organization phase? If so, and my opponent responds by activating a Nazgul permanent event ability, how does using the Nazgul ability affect the hazard limit of the upcoming M/H phase? Does it still count against it? Additionally, if I tap a sage to use Marvel's Told and my sage is also carrying Cram, can I untap him with cram and ditch the cram before making the corruption check?
6) Even though I read and re-read the rules regarding cards playable on an Automatic Attack, I'm still a little confused. So a card like Risky Blow cannot be played against an Automatic Attack, is this correct?
7) The URD specifies 4 different types of movement: Starter, Region, Under-Deeps and Special. It specifically mentions that Forod (and other similar cards) are considered to be in the special movement category. I just want to confirm that if I'm playing the game using Region movement but using a map (not actual region cards), that I am still legally able to play cards like Forod, etc. Is this correct? I don't understand why these cards specifically say they can only be used by a player moving without region cards. Using a map is "in lieu of" region cards so pretty much the same thing. Please help me understand this.
8] A Dwarven Ring doesn't require me to enter a site and face automatic attacks OR tap the site when using its special ability does it? The card just states "Tap a Dwarf bearer to search your play deck for a major item playable at the bearer's site. Play this item immediately or discard." So can I use this ability during any phase of play? Can I stay at the same site turn after turn and use the ability each turn?
9) Facing an attack from Slayer, can the character facing the attack tap himself to cancel the first attack, and then face the second attack at a -1 penalty?
10) Do allies face a strike from Watcher in the Water? The card states "each character", but aren't allies considered to be characters for the purposes of combat?
THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR THE HELP!!