Page 1 of 1

Modified Orc's/Troll's body

Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:03 pm
by Konrad Klar
CRF, Rulings by Term, Body Check wrote:Effects that modify a character's body also modify the number an Orc or Troll would be discarded on. A maximum to body applies equally to the discard number.
What "modify" means here? Are existing discard numbers (Orc Brawler has two) replaced by a maximum to body, or are they shifted toward a maximum to body (i.e. Orc Brawler would have a two, potentially different than its normal)?
And what about effects that modify body not to a maximum?

Re: Modified Orc's/Troll's body

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 2:23 am
by Bandobras Took
Black Mail Coat wrote:Armor. Warrior only: +2 to body to a maximum of 9.
In the case of the discard on 7 or 8, the Armor would move both numbers up by two to a maximum of 9, resulting in a character that is only discarded on a 9.
Smart And Secret wrote:Command. Playable on a leader during the organization phase. Return all other command cards on target leader to your hand when this card is played. -2 to leader's direct influence (to a minimum of 0) and +1 body to all characters in his company. You may return this card to your hand during any organization phase.
In the case of a discard on 7 or 8, the numbers would be modified to 8 and 9, respectively.

If we combine the two, the armor is applied first, bringing both numbers to 9, then Smart and Secret would bring both discard numbers to 10.

Re: Modified Orc's/Troll's body

Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:02 pm
by Konrad Klar
Not sure whether I get this logic.

What if Orc Brawler is under second effect of Subtlety of Guile (-2 to body), and under Ahorahil's effect (-1 to body)?
What if Orc Brawler additionally bears Black Mail Coat?

Re: Modified Orc's/Troll's body

Posted: Sat Sep 28, 2013 5:06 am
by Bandobras Took
MELE Rules wrote:Clarification: The prowess modification and maximum for a weapon is applied to a character before any other modifiers are applied. For example, the Lieutenant of Dol Guldur has a base prowess of 7 and a Broad-headed Spear (+2 prowess to a maximum of 8) - he starts with a prowess of 8 before any other modifications are applied.
Similarly, the body modification and maximum for a shield, armor, or helmet is applied before any other modifiers are applied.
For the above question, our good friend the Orc Brawler
Discard on a body check result of 7 or 8.
Applies the Black Mail Coat first, raising the first number to 9 and the second number to 9 (because the maximum possible modification applies to the discard number as well as to the character's body).

Then apply the other effects. Subtlety of Guile lowers the first number to 7 and the second number to 7, because the armor and its maximum have already been considered.

Akhorahil lowers the numbers as well; the first number becomes 6 and the second number becomes 6.