Doubts About The Balrog Rules Summary

The place to ask all rules questions related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2994
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Doubts About The Balrog Rules Summary

Post by Bandobras Took »

And what you can and can't do because of it.

Undoubtedly this has been tossed back and forth on the NetRep's board. Right now we have three big rules that come from this turn summary:

1) You can't influence an avatar's follower or ally.
2) You can't target any company or entity associated therewith with hazards if it is not their m/h phase.
3) On-guards may be revealed when a resource is played at a tapped site (would potentially tap an untapped site).

In each of these cases, the Summary is held to override previous rulebooks/rulings:

1) CRF: It is not possible to influence an item away from a Wizard or Ringwraith.
2) CRF: Hazards may only be played on a company whose movement/hazard phase is being resolved, or on the site they are moving to. Long-events and permanent-events may effect more than one company even though they are only played "on" one company.
3) CRF: An on-guard card may be revealed when the company plays a resource that potentially taps the site. The card must affect the company or a character in the company that site phase.

In that case, shouldn't the following also override previous rules/rulings?

1) p.19, under Ringwraith Effects, there is no mention of needing a mode card to move to non-Darkhaven sites; this should override the MELE rulebook, since the summary does not reference it in any way (though mentioning both region movement and coastal sea limitations).
2) The summary makes absolutely no provision for winning by the One Ring, therefore, dunking should be disallowed, at the very least for RWs, who have no card to let them win the game.

Or is this a case of spaghetti rules?
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3176
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Doubts About The Balrog Rules Summary

Post by Konrad Klar »

CRF: Hazards may only be played on a company whose movement/hazard phase is being resolved, or on the site they are moving to.
What about current site of company that does not move?
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

miguel
Posts: 659
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 8:21 am

Re: Doubts About The Balrog Rules Summary

Post by miguel »

Bandobras Took wrote:In each of these cases, the Summary is held to override previous rulebooks/rulings:
...
1) You can't influence an avatar's follower or ally.
...
1) CRF: It is not possible to influence an item away from a Wizard or Ringwraith.
You make it appear as if one could influence items from Wizards/RWs? Not possible.

And yeah, spaghetti. With meatballs.

User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 2994
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Doubts About The Balrog Rules Summary

Post by Bandobras Took »

Okay; just so long as it's with meatballs. :)

And no, it's just that the Balrog summary is held to be more current than the other rules, which only forbid items, not followers or allies.
Remember, NetRep rulings are official. This does not necessarily mean they are correct.

You probably aren't playing Fallen Wizards correctly. This prompted the backlash erratum that I will link to as soon as I notice it is officially posted. :)

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”