Page 1 of 2
The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:33 am
by kober
When the last character in a company is being discarded/eliminated during the movement/hazard phase, can any cards (e.g. Smoke Rings or short-event Khamul) still be played within the phase?
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:46 am
by marcos
resources yes, hazards only if there is any hazard limit left
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 4:26 pm
by Mordan
if all characters have been eliminated during the AA of the site phase
can you still play We Have Come To Kill?
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 5:43 pm
by Konrad Klar
Playing a character under GI does not require an existing company at all.
So yes.
(However I cannot guarantee that there is no conflicting rulings).
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:50 pm
by Alter Tuk
Hmm, this seems to be a little bit tricky. One had to find out when exactly the site gets discareded or goes to location deck as target site for sure would be needed.
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:14 pm
by Konrad Klar
CRF, Rulings by Term, Company wrote:If all characters in a company leave play, the site goes to the location deck or discard
pile, depending on its tapped status. If this happens during the movement/hazard
phase, the site card stays in play until the end of all movement/hazard phases. In this
case, on-guard cards may still be played on the site.
I think that in this case it only matters for sites that otherwise would be discraded. If character is played outside company (under GI) it may be played everywhere.
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:30 pm
by Mordan
Konrad Klar wrote:CRF, Rulings by Term, Company wrote:If all characters in a company leave play, the site goes to the location deck or discard
pile, depending on its tapped status. If this happens during the movement/hazard
phase, the site card stays in play until the end of all movement/hazard phases. In this
case, on-guard cards may still be played on the site.
I think that in this case it only matters for sites that otherwise would be discraded. If character is played outside company (under GI) it may be played everywhere.
hmmm that would mean one can use We have Come To Kill anytime to create a new company at a character's home site or haven.
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 7:39 pm
by Konrad Klar
That would mean that one can use We Have Come to Kill to create a new company at
![Ruins & Lairs [-me_rl-]](./images/smilies/me_rl.png)
,
![Shadow Hold [-me_sh-]](./images/smilies/me_sh.png)
,
![Border Hold [-me_bh-]](./images/smilies/me_bh.png)
.
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 12:47 am
by Bandobras Took
Van Norton, 585 wrote:No, you can't use A Chance Meeting to bring in Wizards. You can only play A Chance Meeting when you are at a site, normally, the Untap, Organization, Site and End of Turn phases.
If you have no company at a site, you are not at a site. Therefore Chance Meeting, and, concordantly, We Have Come to Kill, may not be played.
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Sat Apr 14, 2012 10:34 pm
by Konrad Klar
No wonder.
It is difficult to play a character at site under DI (as it is in case of ACM) without company at the same site. WHCtK additionaly allows to play a character under GI.
P.S.
Technically you are player. Your companies are (or are not) at site.
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 2:51 am
by Bandobras Took
Van Norton, 585, Next Question Down wrote:3.) We have come to kill
May I use this card to bring my ringwraith in play ? And what will be the amount of his mind ? May I use ACM at any time during my turn (during movement hazard phase to assign the new character a strike; will this increase the number of hazards) ? May I play a character (during organisaton phase) at any shadow-, borderhold and ruin & lairs also if the site is not in play ?
No, We have Come to Kill can't be used to bring in a Ringwraith. The same restriction applies that you must be at the site.
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 3:00 am
by Bandobras Took
Konrad Klar wrote:Technically you are player. Your companies are (or are not) at site.
MELE Rulebook wrote:If you move The One Ring to Barad-dûr - Sauron is reunited with the One Ring and you win.
Your opponent will probably be call before you make it out of the Tournament Venue, let alone to Southern Mirkwood.

Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:28 pm
by Konrad Klar
Another reason for not taking some records as strict rules but only as brief description.
(Otherwise all test of gold ring at Barad-dûr would be at -6: -3 per site's special ability, -3 per Lidless Eye rules).
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 6:38 pm
by Mordan
so in the end,
can you bring a 2nd character at his home site (ruins,shadow or border) during the organisation phase with WhCtK while the site card is not yet in play?
any ruling on this?
Re: The last character in a company has been eliminated
Posted: Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:34 pm
by Konrad Klar
1.
I do not know who exactly Van Norton was/is

and how official his words are. I guess that he was affiliate of ICE.
2.
"The same restriction applies that you must be at the site."
Does not make a sense if read literally.
3.
If it means: "a company must be at site" it makes a sense. In this case character cannot be brought in play at site without player's company.
4.
Even if (3) is true, it is an arbitrary statement (no because no). Not something that would be concluded from exiting text of card and/or from rules. De facto errata.