Page 1 of 1

Dwarven direct influence

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 12:03 pm
by PaulGrogan
Hi all,

THis occurred in a ftf game yesterday. Thorin has 2 DI. He gets +2 DI against dwarves and dwarf factions. He is currently controlling 2 dwarves which have 4 mind between them, which is legal. He then tries to recruit a dwarf faction. I ruled he has no DI left to get a bonus.

Similar question, what if he was only controlling 1 dwarf who had 3 mind. Therefore, he has 1 extra DI to control characters. Does this +1 give a bonus to influencing factions?

And finally, Thorin gets another +2 against Blue Mountain Dwarves. So, forgetting him controlling characters, that is a net +4 against blue mountain dwarves?

Re: Dwarven direct influence

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 1:21 pm
by Bandobras Took
CRF, Influence wrote:Restricted direct influence is limited in its use, usually to characters and/or factions of specific races. Unrestricted influence has no use restrictions.
Since he was using his +2 DI against Dwarves and Dwarf Factions to control characters, he cannot use it on a faction.

I'm not sure, but I think if he is only using 1 of his +2 DI against Dwarves and Dwarf Factions to control characters, he may use other against a faction.

The +2 against the Blue Mountain Dwarves faction is indeed an additional modifier and will apply regardless of how his other DI is used.

Re: Dwarven direct influence

Posted: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:17 pm
by Brabo
Bandobras Took wrote:I'm not sure, but I think if he is only using 1 of his +2 DI against Dwarves and Dwarf Factions to control characters, he may use other against a faction.
Sure! He effectively has 4 DI of which 2 must be used against Dwarves, so if he controls a 3 mind dwarf he can use the 1 DI he has left for any other faction or character.