Page 1 of 1

Removing corruption cards and not tapping

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 1:55 pm
by PaulGrogan
Played my first game on GCCG last night (thanks Wisp), but I was told about a rule where you can try and remove a corruption card in the organisation phase and take a -3 penalty by not tapping.
I was convinced by more than one person this was correct, but nobody could find the ruling. I've re-read the new rules today and cant find it anywhere.

Re: Removing corruption cards and not tapping

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:45 pm
by marcos
there you got
MELE Rulesbook wrote:REMOVING CORRUPTION CARDS
A character may choose to ignore the restriction that he tap to remove a corruption card (as printed on a corruption card), and suffer a -3 penalty to the dice roll to remove it. This means a character can remain untapped and still attempt to remove a corruption card (the roll is modified by -3), or that he can attempt to remove a corruption card even if he is already tapped or wounded (the roll is modified by -3).
Each turn, a character may only make one removal attempt for each corruption card if he uses the -3 modifier.

Re: Removing corruption cards and not tapping

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 2:58 pm
by PaulGrogan
Ah right, I dont have any MELE cards, just METW / METD / MEDM, so never bothered reading the MELE book.
Pity that rule isnt duplicated in the latest METW book

Re: Removing corruption cards and not tapping

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 4:46 pm
by marcos
MELE and MEBA rules are the most up to date rulesbooks, i reccomend you to check for them at the dutch council site: www.meccg.net/netherlands/meccg/

Re: Removing corruption cards and not tapping

Posted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 6:16 pm
by Konrad Klar
It was first intoduced in the Dragons.
Dragons, Removing Corruption Cards wrote:A character may choose to ignore the restriction that he tap to remove a corruption
card (as printed on a corruption card), and suffer a -3 penalty to the dice roll to
remove it. This means a character can remain untapped and still attempt to remove a
corruption card (the roll is modified by -3), or that he can attempt to remove a
corruption card even if he is already tapped or wounded (the roll is modified by -3).
A character may only attempt to remove each corruption card once per turn if he
ignores the tapping restriction to do so.
Example: During his organization phase, Beorn has 3 corruption cards: Lure of
Nature, Lure of Expedience, and Lure of the Senses. He taps and rolls to attempt to
remove the Lure of the Senses; his roll is an 8, so the card is removed (greater than 6
was required). If, instead, Beorn had not tapped for this attempt, he would have failed
(he would have needed to roll a 10 or better). He then rolls to attempt to remove Lure
of Nature; his roll is a 6 modified by -3 for a net result of 3, so the card is not removed
(greater than 4 was required).
Finally, he rolls to attempt to remove Lure of Expedience; his roll is a 9 modified by
-3 for a net result of 6, so the card is removed (greater than 5 was required).
Cursive original.

Re: Removing corruption cards and not tapping

Posted: Thu Jun 03, 2010 1:50 pm
by Bandobras Took
And as a historical side note, it was introduced because the corruption strategy was about the only strategy people were using in the original release.

Re: Removing corruption cards and not tapping

Posted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 5:01 pm
by Zakath
Dragons introduced Marvels Told, too.