Played my first game on GCCG last night (thanks Wisp), but I was told about a rule where you can try and remove a corruption card in the organisation phase and take a -3 penalty by not tapping.
I was convinced by more than one person this was correct, but nobody could find the ruling. I've re-read the new rules today and cant find it anywhere.
Removing corruption cards and not tapping
there you got
MELE Rulesbook wrote:REMOVING CORRUPTION CARDS
A character may choose to ignore the restriction that he tap to remove a corruption card (as printed on a corruption card), and suffer a -3 penalty to the dice roll to remove it. This means a character can remain untapped and still attempt to remove a corruption card (the roll is modified by -3), or that he can attempt to remove a corruption card even if he is already tapped or wounded (the roll is modified by -3).
Each turn, a character may only make one removal attempt for each corruption card if he uses the -3 modifier.
-
- Posts: 14
- Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 4:00 pm
Ah right, I dont have any MELE cards, just METW / METD / MEDM, so never bothered reading the MELE book.
Pity that rule isnt duplicated in the latest METW book
Pity that rule isnt duplicated in the latest METW book
MELE and MEBA rules are the most up to date rulesbooks, i reccomend you to check for them at the dutch council site: www.meccg.net/netherlands/meccg/
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
It was first intoduced in the Dragons.
Cursive original.Dragons, Removing Corruption Cards wrote:A character may choose to ignore the restriction that he tap to remove a corruption
card (as printed on a corruption card), and suffer a -3 penalty to the dice roll to
remove it. This means a character can remain untapped and still attempt to remove a
corruption card (the roll is modified by -3), or that he can attempt to remove a
corruption card even if he is already tapped or wounded (the roll is modified by -3).
A character may only attempt to remove each corruption card once per turn if he
ignores the tapping restriction to do so.
Example: During his organization phase, Beorn has 3 corruption cards: Lure of
Nature, Lure of Expedience, and Lure of the Senses. He taps and rolls to attempt to
remove the Lure of the Senses; his roll is an 8, so the card is removed (greater than 6
was required). If, instead, Beorn had not tapped for this attempt, he would have failed
(he would have needed to roll a 10 or better). He then rolls to attempt to remove Lure
of Nature; his roll is a 6 modified by -3 for a net result of 3, so the card is not removed
(greater than 4 was required).
Finally, he rolls to attempt to remove Lure of Expedience; his roll is a 9 modified by
-3 for a net result of 6, so the card is removed (greater than 5 was required).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
And as a historical side note, it was introduced because the corruption strategy was about the only strategy people were using in the original release.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.