How targeting not declared "burglary attempt"? Prior its chain of effects such attempt does not exist and is not even declared.CRF, Ruling by Terms, Targets wrote:Annotation 1: A card is not in play until it is resolved in its chain of effects. When the play of a card is declared, no elements of the card may be the target of actions declared in the same chain of effects. An exception to this is a dice-rolling action, e.g. a corruption check.
Annotation 2: A corruption check or any dice-rolling action can be targeted in the chain of effects during which it was declared.
tapping characters - adunaphel vs heedles revelry
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4493
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Cards having phrase "may be revealed as on-guard" are special case IMO. It is exception made for not breaking other rules, nameley two rules:
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
I think I see what you're saying, but it may be purely semantic.
1) Company successfully plays item (i.e. the action is declared and resolved. Chain of effects over.)
2) Heedless Revelry may now be revealed as an on-guard card, despite all rules about targets in the m/h phase, because the card text overrides these rules.
3) Heedless Revelry declares and resolves instantly per the CRF.
Not to branch off, but:
The way I see it is this:Heedless Revelry wrote:Alternatively, may be revealed as an on-guard card on a company after the successful play of an item, ally, or faction. Tap all untapped non-Ringwraith, non-Wizard characters in the company.
1) Company successfully plays item (i.e. the action is declared and resolved. Chain of effects over.)
2) Heedless Revelry may now be revealed as an on-guard card, despite all rules about targets in the m/h phase, because the card text overrides these rules.
3) Heedless Revelry declares and resolves instantly per the CRF.
Since there's no chain of effects other than its own, and it is considered to have resolved before then, there's no chance to do anything in response -- Heedless will have already resolved before any action can be taken.A revealed on-guard card retroactively takes effect as though it were both declared and resolved immediately prior to the chain of effects during which it was revealed.
Not to branch off, but:
Has the same manner of play. You can reveal it as an on-guard card whether or not the target existed in the m/h phase, then it declares and resolves immediately, allowing you to cancel a declared scout action that has not yet resolved.Searching Eye wrote:If this card is played as an on-guard card, it can be revealed during the opponent's site phase to cancel and discard a card requiring scout skill before it is resolved.
