webs of fear and vilya

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
coro
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:32 pm
Location: barcelona - the shire

Hi,

Let's supose that Player A has Elrond with Vilya and controlling his son elrohir.
Vilya. Elrond only. +4 prowess, +2 body, +6 direct influence until the end of the turn. If Elrond is at Rivendell and your play deck has at least 5 cards in it, you may take 3 resource cards of your choice from your discard pile and shuffle them into your play deck. Elrond makes a corruption check modified by -3. Cannot be duplicated on a given turn. "...mightiest of the Three."-LotRVI
His company faces an attack from a Dragon Creature and tries to Cancel the attack with Flatter a Foe.
Flatter a Foe. Flattery attempt. Playable on a character whose company is facing an attack of the type listed below. Character makes an influence check (modified by his usual direct influence and +2 if a diplomat). If successful, the attack is canceled and the hazard limit for the character's company is decreased by two. The influence check is successful if the result is greater than: 10 against a Dragon; 11 against Men or Drakes; 12 against Trolls, Orcs, Elves, and Giants.
Player B plays Webs of fear and treachery in response.
Webs of Fear and Treachery. Except for unused general influence and unused normal direct influence (including influence modifications given in a character's card text), all modifications to each influence attempt are reduced to zero. "'For Boromir was loyal to me and no wizard's pupil. He would have remembered his father's need...'"-LotRI
How does it interacts with Vilya? I mean how many DI is considered to have Elrond unused? 4, because uses Vilya Extra Influence to control Elrohir?
Alter Tuk
Ex Council Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 6:20 pm
Location: Germany

CRF -> Ruling by term -> Normal
Normal means as written on the card, not considering other card's effects. Note that this definition only applies to effects refering to card texts.
Vilya`s effect on Elrond`s DI doesnt count to all influence attempts as long as Webs of Fear is in play.

But he still has +6 DI and may use it to control characters. So 4 "normal" DI points are still free to use on influence attempts.
[url=http://gccg.sourceforge.net/]Come to GCCG or die a lonely death.[/url]
coro
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:32 pm
Location: barcelona - the shire

thanks!
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”