Forewarned is Forearmed and hero Under-deeps

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4490
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Forewarned is Forearmed wrote:Any non-Dragon Lair site with more than one automatic-attack is reduced to having one automatic-attack of the hazard player’s choice (this attack cannot be canceled). Any creature or other hazard with more than one attack is reduced to one attack of the hazard player’s choice (this attack cannot be canceled). Discard when such an isolated attack is defeated. Cannot be duplicated.
CRF, Tidings of Bold wrote:Tidings of Bold Spies only copies attacks, not effects that allow certain creatures to
become automatic-attacks.

The Under-leas wrote:Adjacent Sites: Mount Gundabad (0), The Iron-deeps (6), The Under-grottos (8), The Under-gates (6), The Under-vaults (7)

Playable: Items (minor, major, greater)

Automatic-attacks (2):
(1st) Orcs — 5 strikes with 7 prowess
(2nd) Opponent may play as an automatic-attack one non-unique
hazard creature from his hand normally keyed to Ruins & Lairs [ [-me_rl-] ]

Special: If the Witch-king of Angmar is in play as a permanent-event, it must be used as an additional automatic-attack (discard after use—ignore result of defeat).
Which in text of The Under-leas is considered "effects that allow certain creatures to become automatic-attacks"?

(2nd) Opponent may play as an automatic-attack one non-unique
hazard creature from his hand normally keyed to Ruins & Lairs [ [-me_rl-] ]

or

Special: If the Witch-king of Angmar is in play as a permanent-event, it must be used as an additional automatic-attack (discard after use—ignore result of defeat).

?

Or both?

If both then (normally) Forewarned is Forearmed does not affect the hero The Under-leas. Site with more than one automatic-attack is reduced to having one automatic-attack, but there is only one automatic-attack: Orcs — 5 strikes with 7 prowess.

If however as "effects that allow certain creatures to become automatic-attacks" is treated the one listed as a special, then a consistency would require that the special is ignored both by Forewarned is Forearmed and Tidings of Bold. I.e. after reduction made by Forewarned is Forearmed and after facing an isolated AA Witch-king of Angmar that is in play as a permanent-event may (and even must) be used as AA.

And because beside the moment when it is faced it counts as one of "effects that allow certain creatures to become automatic-attacks" rather than AA, it is not faced again according to the result of Troll-purse or Known to an Ounce.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”