Konrad Klar wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 25, 2021 9:30 pm
CDavis7M wrote: ↑
Mon Jan 25, 2021 5:31 pm
Also, consider the meaning of parenthesis and brackets before raising your double bonus argument again.
But if a check for a race of bearer would give a result like "Dwarf, other race" then also a Dwarven Ring would give bonuses and CPs both for Dwarf and for other race bearer.
No it wouldn't. There are no "bonuses and CPs for other race bearer
" as you suggest. You just made this up. The Dwarven ring ONLY has its normal values printed on the card and the values in parentheses and brackets that apply to a Dwarf bearer. The use of parenthesis and brackets indicates that the bonuses are alternatives
. The Dwarven Ring only has 1
single prowess modifier. The prowess modifier is either +2 or, alternatively, +4 for a Dwarf. The prowess modifier is not +2 and an additional +4 if a Dwarf. This is why the prowess modifier on the Dwarven Rings are written as "+2(4)" and not "+2(+4)."
If a Dwarven Ring had two prowess modifiers as you suggested then a character that is normally a Dwarf and only a Dwarf would receive both bonuses: +9 direct influence (instead of 2 normally or 7 for a Dwarf), +6 prowess (instead of 2 normally, or 4 for a Dwarf), and 8 corruption points (instead of 3 normally or 5 for a Dwarf. Clearly this is not how it works.
I checked ICE's ruling to see if I was right and of course I was.
ICE Netrep wrote:From: ich...@cstone.net (Ichabod)
Subject: Re: [METW] Dwarven Rings
The dwarf bearer gets +7 to their d.i. The  only overrides the 2 on the card, not the +2. The cases you mention have no other modifiers. And no, the dwarf will not get the +2, only the +7.
There you have it from ICE. There is a single
direct influence modifier that has a normal value of "2" which is override by a value of "7" for a Dwarf.