This is a pretty basic question, but something else I've just read has made me question whether I've been playing this wrong for years. In the end-of-turn phase, can both players discard a card or is that option only available to the player whose turn it is currently?
Thanks, and apologies if this has already been answered elsewhere (couldn't find it).
End-of-turn Phase - Discarding a Card
Both players can discard. But remeber about big mistake, which people make very often. When you are a hazard player, sometimes put onguards on the table. In the end of turn they retun to you. In this case player has to discard some cards to reach allowed hand size. It means you reach this number by discarding and you cant discard one more and draw a card from your deck.
IMustNotFear.FearIsTheMind-Killer.FearIsTheLittle-death ThatBringsTotalObliteration.IWillFaceMyFear.
IWillPermitItToPassOverMeAndThroughMe.
AndWhenItHasGonePast,IWillTurnTheInnerEyeToSeeItsPath.
WhereTheFearHasGoneThereWillBeNothing. OnlyIWillRemain.
IWillPermitItToPassOverMeAndThroughMe.
AndWhenItHasGonePast,IWillTurnTheInnerEyeToSeeItsPath.
WhereTheFearHasGoneThereWillBeNothing. OnlyIWillRemain.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Lidless Eye wrote:You may discard one card. Then you must draw or discard cards until your hand has 8 cards. Your opponent does the same for his hand. Note: the number of cards you must keep in your hand can be increased beyond eight by certain cards and abilities
Underline mine.CRF, Rulings by Term, Multi-player Games wrote:Only the moving player, and the hazard player drawing cards based on his movement,
may take advantage of drawing cards, including cards drawn for events like The
Nazgul are Abroad and From the Pits of Angband. These two players are also the only
ones who may discard a card at the end of the turn. All players reset their hand size
when any turn or movement/hazard phase ends.
Seems like authors are mixing the end of turn with the end-of-turn phase.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
I had always thought that 'your opponent does the same...' only referred to the sentence directly preceding it (and not the first sentence as well).Konrad Klar wrote:...Lidless Eye wrote:You may discard one card. Then you must draw or discard cards until your hand has 8 cards. Your opponent does the same for his hand. Note: the number of cards you must keep in your hand can be increased beyond eight by certain cards and abilities
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
Good point.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Very good point, but the understanding in use is that "do the same" refers to the entire process.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
But "understanding in use" is not always compliant with letter of rules.
In this case it is only implicitly supported by CRF entry regarding Multi-player Games.
And only if authors had in mind discarding a card in end-of-turn phase (but not discarding "a card at the end of the turn" as they wrote).
In this case it is only implicitly supported by CRF entry regarding Multi-player Games.
And only if authors had in mind discarding a card in end-of-turn phase (but not discarding "a card at the end of the turn" as they wrote).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Bandobras Took
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 3157
- Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm
Yes. My point was not that there isn't room for interpretation (and because there's that room, this would be a good one for the NetRep to clarify), simply that for the purpose of playing anything with standard tournament conventions, that is the way it is currently expected to be played.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
A little off-topic, but somewhat relevant to this -- is the NetRep team still active? If so, where do they post their latest rulings? I couldn't find anything recent in these forums.Bandobras Took wrote:Yes. My point was not that there isn't room for interpretation (and because there's that room, this would be a good one for the NetRep to clarify), simply that for the purpose of playing anything with standard tournament conventions, that is the way it is currently expected to be played.
- Konrad Klar
- Rules Wizard
- Posts: 4484
- Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Wałbrzych, Poland
At least one of advisors to NetRep Team is still active. 

We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
- Shapeshifter
- Ex Council Member
- Posts: 625
- Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
- Location: Germany
- Contact:
The most recent clarifications of the NetRep team may be found here.garethc wrote:A little off-topic, but somewhat relevant to this -- is the NetRep team still active? If so, where do they post their latest rulings? I couldn't find anything recent in these forums.
OK, thanks, I was looking in the right place, then. It seems it's been a while since the last update.Shapeshifter wrote:The most recent clarifications of the NetRep team may be found here.garethc wrote:A little off-topic, but somewhat relevant to this -- is the NetRep team still active? If so, where do they post their latest rulings? I couldn't find anything recent in these forums.