End-of-turn Phase - Discarding a Card

The place to ask and debate all rules issues related to MECCG.
Post Reply
garethc
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:06 am

This is a pretty basic question, but something else I've just read has made me question whether I've been playing this wrong for years. In the end-of-turn phase, can both players discard a card or is that option only available to the player whose turn it is currently?

Thanks, and apologies if this has already been answered elsewhere (couldn't find it).
Muad'Dib
Posts: 376
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2008 10:41 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Both players can discard. But remeber about big mistake, which people make very often. When you are a hazard player, sometimes put onguards on the table. In the end of turn they retun to you. In this case player has to discard some cards to reach allowed hand size. It means you reach this number by discarding and you cant discard one more and draw a card from your deck.
IMustNotFear.FearIsTheMind-Killer.FearIsTheLittle-death ThatBringsTotalObliteration.IWillFaceMyFear.
IWillPermitItToPassOverMeAndThroughMe.
AndWhenItHasGonePast,IWillTurnTheInnerEyeToSeeItsPath.
WhereTheFearHasGoneThereWillBeNothing. OnlyIWillRemain.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Lidless Eye wrote:You may discard one card. Then you must draw or discard cards until your hand has 8 cards. Your opponent does the same for his hand. Note: the number of cards you must keep in your hand can be increased beyond eight by certain cards and abilities
CRF, Rulings by Term, Multi-player Games wrote:Only the moving player, and the hazard player drawing cards based on his movement,
may take advantage of drawing cards, including cards drawn for events like The
Nazgul are Abroad and From the Pits of Angband. These two players are also the only
ones who may discard a card at the end of the turn.
All players reset their hand size
when any turn or movement/hazard phase ends.
Underline mine.
Seems like authors are mixing the end of turn with the end-of-turn phase.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
garethc
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:06 am

Thanks for the replies. I have been interpreting it incorrectly all this time.
garethc
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:06 am

Konrad Klar wrote:
Lidless Eye wrote:You may discard one card. Then you must draw or discard cards until your hand has 8 cards. Your opponent does the same for his hand. Note: the number of cards you must keep in your hand can be increased beyond eight by certain cards and abilities
...
I had always thought that 'your opponent does the same...' only referred to the sentence directly preceding it (and not the first sentence as well).
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Good point.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Very good point, but the understanding in use is that "do the same" refers to the entire process.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

But "understanding in use" is not always compliant with letter of rules.
In this case it is only implicitly supported by CRF entry regarding Multi-player Games.
And only if authors had in mind discarding a card in end-of-turn phase (but not discarding "a card at the end of the turn" as they wrote).
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Bandobras Took
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3157
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 2:30 pm

Yes. My point was not that there isn't room for interpretation (and because there's that room, this would be a good one for the NetRep to clarify), simply that for the purpose of playing anything with standard tournament conventions, that is the way it is currently expected to be played.
The game is flawed, but this does not mean it cannot be loved.
garethc
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:06 am

Bandobras Took wrote:Yes. My point was not that there isn't room for interpretation (and because there's that room, this would be a good one for the NetRep to clarify), simply that for the purpose of playing anything with standard tournament conventions, that is the way it is currently expected to be played.
A little off-topic, but somewhat relevant to this -- is the NetRep team still active? If so, where do they post their latest rulings? I couldn't find anything recent in these forums.
User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 4484
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

At least one of advisors to NetRep Team is still active. :wink:
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.
User avatar
Shapeshifter
Ex Council Member
Posts: 625
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2007 4:16 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

garethc wrote:A little off-topic, but somewhat relevant to this -- is the NetRep team still active? If so, where do they post their latest rulings? I couldn't find anything recent in these forums.
The most recent clarifications of the NetRep team may be found here.
garethc
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 8:06 am

Shapeshifter wrote:
garethc wrote:A little off-topic, but somewhat relevant to this -- is the NetRep team still active? If so, where do they post their latest rulings? I couldn't find anything recent in these forums.
The most recent clarifications of the NetRep team may be found here.
OK, thanks, I was looking in the right place, then. It seems it's been a while since the last update.
Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions & Debate (unofficial)”