Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2019 ARV should be posted here.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1488
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by CDavis7M »

Konrad Klar wrote:
Sat Oct 26, 2019 6:50 am
CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:04 pm
"Palantíri", plural of Palantír.

The expression "for Palantíri" means "for each Palantír." This establishes a passive condition like many other cards using "each/all" of something. The corruption point modification is triggered when a Palantír is brought into play.
Thanks.
How long the modification persists?
As far I know companies returned to a site of origin in result of returning action from Snowstorm are not moved back on their route when Snowstorm leaves active play.
Site cards tapped in result the action from Long Winter do not untap when Long Winter leaves active play.
The effect lasts until the permanent event is discarded as normal.

Why is cancellation of Long Winter different? Card position is not an attribute. The ICE Digests describe this but the rules don't.

It's easy to revert to a printed attribute but potentially impossible to rewind game time.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by Konrad Klar »

CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:04 pm
"Palantíri", plural of Palantír.

The expression "for Palantíri" means "for each Palantír." This establishes a passive condition like many other cards using "each/all" of something. The corruption point modification is triggered when a Palantír is brought into play.
As I understand Palantír that is already in play when Bane of the Ithil-stone resolves is not affected.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1488
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by CDavis7M »

Konrad Klar wrote:
Sun Oct 27, 2019 6:59 am
CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:04 pm
"Palantíri", plural of Palantír.

The expression "for Palantíri" means "for each Palantír." This establishes a passive condition like many other cards using "each/all" of something. The corruption point modification is triggered when a Palantír is brought into play.
As I understand Palantír that is already in play when Bane of the Ithil-stone resolves is not affected.
Why do you think that?

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by Konrad Klar »

CDavis7M wrote:
Sun Oct 27, 2019 9:25 pm
Why do you think that?
CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:04 pm
The corruption point modification is triggered when a Palantír is brought into play.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1488
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by CDavis7M »

The corruption point modification is triggered when a Palantír is brought into play.
This statement is not the same as "The corruption point modification is only triggered when a Palantír is brought into play."

It is clear from the card text and Digests that effects triggered by passive conditions can affect cards in play and card brought into play later.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by Konrad Klar »

CDavis7M wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 4:15 pm
It is clear from the card text and Digests that effects triggered by passive conditions can affect cards in play and card brought into play later.
Everything is clear ...for you.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1488
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by CDavis7M »

Konrad Klar wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 6:10 pm
CDavis7M wrote:
Mon Oct 28, 2019 4:15 pm
It is clear from the card text and Digests that effects triggered by passive conditions can affect cards in play and card brought into play later.
Everything is clear ...for you.
It should be clear to everyone. Page 41 of the MELE rules given an example of a lasting effect created by a long event applying to an entity already in play (e.g., Fell Winter affects the site path to Dunharrow). This same page given an example of a lasting effect created by a long event applying to entities that are not yet in play (Awaken Denizens increasing strikes at Ruins & Lairs for both players).

Image

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Thrall of the Voice: Character Play Restrictions

Post by Konrad Klar »

Everything would be clear if it would be clear that receiving the Wolves attack happens as an action caused by passive condition.
The text on scan does not indicate so.
This is still your assumption, as in case of doubling of CPs of Palantiri, caused by Bane of the Ithil-stone.

I agree that both Fell-Winter and Bane of the Ithil-stone works similarly.
But the effects have nothing to do with actions caused by passive condition.
When they are in play they create some effects on qualified objects; the effects disappear when they are not in play.
Results of actions caused by passive condition are persistent. Continuous effects of cards in play disappear when the cards are no longer in play.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

Post Reply

Return to “2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”