Annotation 25a

Any rule erratum or clarification submission for the upcoming 2019 ARV should be posted here.
User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1488
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Annotation 25a

Post by CDavis7M »

Annotation 25a: A company's movement/hazard phase is concluded when a moving company removes its site of origin and both players agree to reconcile (discard down to/draw up to) their hand sizes.
This statement is accurate 100% of the time.

Annotation 25a does NOT say or suggest that:
Annotation 25a: A company's movement/hazard phase is only concluded when a moving company removes its site of origin and only if both players agree to reconcile (discard down to/draw up to) their hand sizes.
To read it as such would be to confuse it.

From reading the rulesbook section 6 on MOVEMENT, it's clear that the M/H phase may be concluded in other ways.

---------
Annotation 25a: No resources (and obviously no hazards) can be played, and no resource effects can be activated, until the site phase or until both players have drawn cards for the movement of a following company.
This statement is also accurate 100% of the time. But note that it does NOT say:
Annotation 25a: No resources (and obviously no hazards) can be played, and no resource effects can be activated, until the site phase or until both players have drawn at least one card for the movement of a following company.
Drawing cards is referring to step 2 in the movement process described in the Turn Summary:
Movement/Hazard Phase
Follow this procedure for each of your companies. Each company has a separate movement/hazard phase. You decide which of your companies goes first, second, etc.:
1) If the company has a face down new site card, turn it over (reveal it).
2) If the company is not moving, no cards are drawn. If the company is moving to a non-Darkhaven site, you may draw up to the number of cards indicated by the site that it is moving to (at least one card must be drawn);
Drawing cards and revealing a site are synonymous with beginning the movement/hazard phase. If no cards are drawn and no site is revealed, the M/H phase can still be started. All of this happens at the "same time" without following the timing rules. And there are situations where one or both players will not draw any cards.

Annotation 25a could have said "until the site phase or until a following company's movement/hazard phase." But by simply reading Annotation 25b, Annotation 25a does say exactly that.



The rules can't be understood from reading a single sentence in isolation.

User avatar
Konrad Klar
Rules Wizard
Posts: 3263
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Wałbrzych, Poland

Re: Annotation 25a

Post by Konrad Klar »

CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:30 pm
Annotation 25a does NOT say or suggest that:
CDavis7M wrote:
Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:30 pm
This statement is also accurate 100% of the time. But note that it does NOT say:
Just that. The rule does not include some possibilities that it should include.
We will not speak of such things even in the morning of the Shire.

User avatar
CDavis7M
Posts: 1488
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2018 3:10 am
Location: California

Re: Annotation 25a

Post by CDavis7M »

Not unless it would matter to an real situation in the game or would clear up actual confusion.

No one is confused about this situation. The distinction makes to difference to any possible game play.

Post Reply

Return to “2019 Annual Rules Vote - Submissions”