Search found 1063 matches

by Theo
Thu Aug 06, 2020 2:54 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Palantir of Annuminas - list of valid cards
Replies: 17
Views: 283

Re: Palantir of Annuminas - list of valid cards

"'X or Y only' means 'X only or Y only'" is not an absolute truth. You are adding an assumption of a distributive property in keywords that is not there. Instead, a card with "X or Y only" is quite literally NOT a card with "X only" (we can still argue intended parsing semantics for whether it shoul...
by Theo
Fri Jul 31, 2020 1:50 am
Forum: New Report / Request
Topic: general Alternative Game Format subforum
Replies: 1
Views: 337

Re: general Alternative Game Format subforum

Any news on this? Do I need to draft a better justification?
by Theo
Sat Jul 18, 2020 7:11 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules
Replies: 162
Views: 5151

Re: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules

But there would NEVER be "an infinite number of declarations of canceling" because non-targeted (non-attack cancellation) cancellation effects are not triggered, they are on-going effect that comes into play once, immediately at resolution. Attack cancellation works differently because it doesn't n...
by Theo
Sat Jul 18, 2020 6:43 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shelob
Replies: 15
Views: 385

Re: Shelob

" Discard when Shelob attacks " a restriction to the player invoking the action of " opts to attack ." Therefore, discarding is a cost of attacking and so discarding is an active condition, which must be satisfied at declaration. I do not read these notions in that text. "restriction"?? I read a pa...
by Theo
Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:53 am
Forum: Cardnum
Topic: Reporting the errors in card texts
Replies: 40
Views: 2663

Re: Reporting the errors in card texts

War-forges: "Discard when this deck is discarded" -> "Discard when this site is discarded"
by Theo
Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:36 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules
Replies: 162
Views: 5151

Re: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules

Otherwise, explain the purpose of "Once the effects of an environment card have been applied to a target during a given movement/hazard phase, that effect is not applied again to that target during the current turn." I'd say it is a clarification. Just because it was written to clarify environments...
by Theo
Fri Jul 17, 2020 7:15 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shelob
Replies: 15
Views: 385

Re: Shelob

I would think "when Shelob attacks" would to be triggered by the resolution of the declaration of the attack. Up until that resolution, Marvels Told would be possible (and fizzle the declared attack).
by Theo
Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:41 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules
Replies: 162
Views: 5151

Re: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules

Indeed... except that wouldn't be possible to fizzle it if the effect it wanted to cancel was from the same card play as the effect lowering the hazard limit. :?
by Theo
Wed Jul 15, 2020 9:36 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shelob
Replies: 15
Views: 385

Re: Shelob

Scott didn't say that Shelob would actually become a creature when attacking as a permanent-event (just "essentially," which is true since it's just an attack). Perhaps you only looked at the 1/6/96 correspondence. This wording is more definitive than "essentially", to me (underline mine): >1. if S...
by Theo
Wed Jul 15, 2020 3:10 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shelob
Replies: 15
Views: 385

Re: Shelob

Scott Frazer's opinion (1/6/96 and 1/9/96) was that it becomes a creature. Presuming this becoming is at declaration, Marvels Told would not be possible. The card itself doesn't explicitly say it becomes a creature (unlike, e.g., Nazgul becoming events), so without Scott's opinion appearing in a CRF...
by Theo
Tue Jul 14, 2020 7:24 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules
Replies: 162
Views: 5151

Re: Incorrect and non-ratified CoE rulings that contradict the existing ICE rulings and the Rules

8. Let's suppose my moving company has a hazard limit of one (all hazards but one have been played) and my opponent plays a dragon. I respond _to the play of the dragon_ with Dragon's Hunger. He discards a hazard creature and the hazard limit is reduced by one (to zero). Since the haz limit is now ...
by Theo
Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:58 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: King under the Mountain
Replies: 6
Views: 158

Re: King under the Mountain

I agree with Konrad that "becomes" language should indicate a one-time effect. I'm not convinced that the removal of King Under the Mountain should not keep the site a Border-hold and Dwarf-hold permanently, though. There are many other cards with this same problem. To my knowledge, none of them can...
by Theo
Sun Jun 28, 2020 3:16 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Playing a card with Crown of Flowers that targets a character
Replies: 95
Views: 1893

Re: Playing a card with Crown of Flowers that targets a character

I know of no rules that suggest that the allowances of Crown of Flowers and Fireworks are not mutually compatible, that "play with/on" means "play with/on something AND NOTHING ELSE." I do know of a rule. The rules on Targeting. (MELE p.91) Targeting: Choosing a specific entity through which a card...
by Theo
Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:13 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Playing a card with Crown of Flowers that targets a character
Replies: 95
Views: 1893

Re: Playing a card with Crown of Flowers that targets a character

Dwarven Ring of ... wrote:... Playable only with a Gold Ring...
CDavis7M must find it hard to use these, with the item they are "played with"-at-the-exclusion-of-"played on" getting discarded immediately. ;)

My point with this post is just that there can be multiple valid interpretations of "play(able) with".
by Theo
Sat Jun 27, 2020 5:03 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Playing a card with Crown of Flowers that targets a character
Replies: 95
Views: 1893

Re: Playing a card with Crown of Flowers that targets a character

There is nothing in the rules nor on any other cards I know of that allow a resource to be played with Crown of Flowers. Crown of Flowers seems to be the sole source of that allowance. Separately, Fireworks has its own allowance for what it may be played on. I know of no rules that suggest that the ...

Go to advanced search