Search found 1007 matches

by CDavis7M
Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:21 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Using a non-hazard agent card as a character card
Replies: 5
Views: 111

Re: Using a non-hazard agent card as a character card

Of course, you may get hazard agents with Mouth or An Unexpected Outpost. Character cards are not hazard cards. Perhaps a good example of why only the first part of that quote made it into the CRF. This is talking about agents in a hero deck. They are hazards. It's not specific to My Precious and L...
by CDavis7M
Tue Jan 21, 2020 5:12 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?
Replies: 21
Views: 186

Re: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?

CDavis7M, give some references or the "Alternative Game Format" subforums might be a better place for the rules you want to make up. This isn't to discourage throwing out ideas or other brainstorming, just to discourage flat refutations without counter evidence. All of the rules have already been q...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 8:57 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Responding to revealed on-guard cards
Replies: 28
Views: 200

Re: Responding to revealed on-guard cards

Yes, the timing rules break corruption support for Narya. My guess is that Narya would require Errata where as the CRF on Corruption could be deemed a clarification. And they weren't willing to add more errata for Narya's sake. Probably because ICE was bombarded with concerns like this: Ichabod writ...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 8:38 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Responding to revealed on-guard cards
Replies: 28
Views: 200

Re: Responding to revealed on-guard cards

Why would Call of Home on Frodo be declared 2nd instead of after Frodo taps in support (as in the Example in the METW rulesbook). Because then the example would not show, what it has to show. Because the resource player did not respond to Dragon-Sickness, but he responded to Call of Home, fearing t...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 8:15 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Responding to revealed on-guard cards
Replies: 28
Views: 200

Re: Responding to revealed on-guard cards

Why would Call of Home on Frodo be declared 2nd instead of after Frodo taps in support (as in the Example in the METW rulesbook). Hm... Anyway, this one one of the earlier rulings and was made by ICE Netrep Scott Frazer. I've noticed that many statements from these earlier CRFs were removed or chang...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:38 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?
Replies: 21
Views: 186

Re: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?

Putting aside Riddling Talk, if Foolish Words is played on-guard If placed on-guard, it may be revealed and played when a character in the company declares such an attempt. Like Searching Eye, Foolish Words has different revealing condition and playing conditions than standard on-guard card. Right,...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:18 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Responding to revealed on-guard cards
Replies: 28
Views: 200

Re: Responding to revealed on-guard cards

Konrad Klar wrote:
Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:10 pm
Effect of tapping in support to cc resolves differently than other effects that modify the cc, declared in response to the cc.
How so and why?
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:16 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Wizard's Trove + White Tree: Not Unique?
Replies: 24
Views: 246

Re: Wizard's Trove + White Tree: Not Unique?

So maybe also Wizardhaven should become protected once The White Tree is declared? There are lots of card statements that are instructions to the player but not effects declared in a chain of effects. Presumably the the wizardhaven becomes protected at resolution of Wizard's Trove when White Tree i...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:00 pm
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Responding to revealed on-guard cards
Replies: 28
Views: 200

Re: Responding to revealed on-guard cards

An attack is considered to be resolved and concluded suggests that an attack may be resolved but not concluded (or concluded and not resolved). I can see that interpretation but I did not read it that way. I read it as saying that " resolving " an attack is the same as " concluding an attack ." The...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 6:45 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?
Replies: 21
Views: 186

Re: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?

Body check is not part of a Strike Sequence. I can understand why you might think that. Maybe because of a difference between " until " and " until after " -- The "strike sequence" is the time from when a player declares that one of his characters will resolve a strike until the strike dice roll is...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 6:22 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?
Replies: 21
Views: 186

Re: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?

Anyway, if you think that modifiers to dice-roll from cards in play are actions activated by passive condition (declaration of a dice-roll), then you have other answer: Actions caused by Spawn of Ungoliant, Stabbing Tongue of Fire, Durin's Bane, Troth-ring in play. We've already discussed this trig...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 5:04 am
Forum: Rules & Errata
Topic: Responding to revealed on-guard cards
Replies: 28
Views: 200

Re: Responding to revealed on-guard cards

Create cards create attacks. The creature card is resolved, creating the attack, during a chain of effects. The attack must be resolved for the creature card to be resolved, for the chain to be resolved. The creation of the attack resolves at resolution of the creature card. The attack itself does ...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:53 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?
Replies: 21
Views: 186

Re: Miruvor: Usable wounded before body check?

Would you care to explain your reasoning? There is a sequence to be followed in the Strike Sequence. https://i.imgur.com/guWxRgP.png Blow Turned - This is played at Step (4), not in response to the body check. Even if played in response to the body check, the "if wounded, -1" effect would not trigg...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:10 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Wizard's Trove + White Tree: Not Unique?
Replies: 24
Views: 246

Re: Wizard's Trove + White Tree: Not Unique?

Are you believing in joint actions, by chance? :shock: No. Joint actions are not a thing in this game. Just synonymous actions as in the Annotations. But in this game some statements on a card are not actions and are not resolved in a chain of effects. I think "ignore" in Wizards Trove is not an ac...
by CDavis7M
Mon Jan 20, 2020 4:06 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Wizard's Trove + White Tree: Not Unique?
Replies: 24
Views: 246

Re: Wizard's Trove + White Tree: Not Unique?

The bottom line for me is: Wizard's Trove say to ignore card text, which includes the Unique keyword. It could have said "effects" but didn't. And so any rule on Unique is ignored for the White Tree played with Wizard's Trove. The arguments based on the Unique rules aren't convincing as these rules ...

Go to advanced search